• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

‘Assessment’ York Train Driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

Whippet

Hello, this is my first time applying for a railway role. I currently work as a PC and I am looking for a career change.

I applied for the Train Driver position at York in late January. I really hoped that I wouldn’t have to apply again after March takeover as per Northern’s website notice last week! Luckily I checked the website login yesterday (Friday) and the status has changed from ‘application in process’ to ‘Assessment!’ So, I am over the moon with that. I just hope the status change isn’t a mistake. :lol:

I haven’t received an email confirmation as of yet however I am just wondering what the Northern ‘assessment’ entails so I can start preparing, is it interview, tests or both does anybody know?

Is anybody else going through the process for York - if so, good luck.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

MarcusL1

Unfortunately the ‘Assessment’ status doesn’t mean you will be attending an assessment day, but rather an online numerical and verbal reasoning test with SHL. By now, you should have received a link for this, but if you haven’t by now it’s most likely you will need to reapply should it be readvertised post-nationalisation. Take this with a grain of salt as I’m not an expert, but this is from my experience applying on the Deutsche Bahn careers page

ST