• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Advance tickets and compulsory reservations

Status
Not open for further replies.

jj1314

Hi all.

I often travel between LEI and STP and, now I'm a student again, enjoy the bargain 'Advance' fares when I can. As we all know, each ticket is valid only on specific services (or in this instance, a particular train) and when booking, a reservation is issued.

Is it the case that I MUST sit in this reserved seat?

I'm fairly sure it was the case until fairly recently but not sure if it still is.

Please advise!

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

bb21

Emeritus Moderator
Yes, it is, but very rarely enforced as long as you are on the correct train.

Llanigraham

On Moderation
I had a reserved seat on a train last Thursday, seat 21, coach F.
Trouble was there were only 4 coaches, and 6 is VERY rare!!

Wild Swan

Officially yes, but the rule is almost never enforced

Can someone point to where this is laid down, please? My understanding is that Advance ticket holders must travel on the designated train, but are not compelled to use their reserved seat. When travelling on East Coast with an Advance ticket, I very rarely travel in my reserved seat and have never ever been challenged. Any unclaimed reserved seat is, of course, up for grabs by other passengers.

swt_passenger

Veteran Member
Can someone point to where this is laid down, please?

The 'Advance fare' T&C on the National Rail website requires you to use the reserved seat:

When and where the ticket can be used
Tickets are valid ONLY on the date and train service(s) shown on the ticket(s).
Where applicable, you must travel in the Class and reserved seat(s) shown on the ticket(s).