• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Advice to go from army to operative roll in rail industry

Status
Not open for further replies.

Verve

Good evening folks,

I’ve currently been out the army since January and I’m looking for advice on how to get into the rail industry in a operative roll in any of the disciplines ie track, off track, OHL etc etc.
I am aware that Network rail recruit in these areas but I feel from a few rejection emails I have had I believe that I would need some experience of working on the railway as I have no experience of working on there to work within that company.
Can anybody recommend any other companies or agency’s in the north west that will take on a ex military with no experience on the railways but I do hold a CSCS card if that’s any good.
Thanks.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

ST

Agree with above and also Trainee Conductor. Some companies may even have a specific approach to recruiting ex- Forces. Worth googling the Train Operating/Freight Operating companies in your locality and checking them out to widen the search area!

Good luck.

Verve

Cheers for the advice gents I see myself as being out in all weather grafting if you know what I mean.
Anybody else know of any agencies or company’s in the north west that they know of to help me start a career on the rails as a operative in any of the disciplines?
Thanks

jaybarts

Have you got Linkedin? There is a woman on there who specifically deals with Network Rail recruitment for ex forces.

Also Linkedin is a great place to connect with current rail employees, and helps to build a picture of what opportunities are out there. You can search specifically for ex forces + current rail workers which is handy.