• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Becoming more employable.

Status
Not open for further replies.

bruebunny

Hey guys,

I've been chasing this job down now for a few years and haven't passed the shortlist stage yet. I want this job, this is what I really want to be doing but I seem to be unable to get past the first hurdle. I want to make my CV more palatable and viable for employment but I don't seem to know how.

What can I do to make myself a better prospect? I'm not interested in those scammy test places, but real courses, volunteering, qualifications, experiences etc that would benefit me. I've been a postal worker for nearly a decade now and want to try something new.

Any and all suggestions are super appreciated.
(Also, does anyone know if those how2become a train driver books and courses are as useless and as much a waste of money as they seem to be?)

Last edited:
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Economist

I don't know if your current role offers is safety-critical but to stand a decent chance you will need some safety critical experience. My day job is in an office but I have a real interest in aviation hence I am learning to fly gliders. I've passed the mandatory Stage 1 and Stage 2 aptitude tests for a driver role but I'm yet to secure a position. Without the experiences I've had at the gliding club I seriously doubt I'd have got this far. So, consider what hobbies you have always wanted to do and pick one which is safety-critical. I'd imagine that rock-climbing, martial arts etc. would all be fairly decent.