BITE Card. Swap it or lose it.

Status
Not open for further replies.

bignosemac

On Moderation
Joined
12 Oct 2009
Messages
4,979
The BITE discount card giving 20% off at hundreds of food and drink outlets on UK stations is changing.

Anyone who currently holds a BITE card will need to re-register to obtain a new plastic card to continue receiving the discount.

http://www.bitecard.co.uk/Home

What has changed? The BITE discount card scheme has been replaced by the new BITE powered by Travelwise scheme. The new card is plastic and personal to you. And you are now able to update your details by creating an online account and logging in. You may notice that some outlets will start swiping your new card through the till as we roll out a new till system.
Apart from that, everything else is the same. You will still be able to get 20% discount on your favourite station food and drink brands.

Why do I need to reapply and re-enter my details? We take the protection of your personal data very seriously. As we are changing the name and other elements of the scheme we are unable to transfer your personal details across from the current database, due to data protection legislation. We would also like to ensure we have the most up-to-date information about you. You will be able to update this yourself from now on.

How do I get a BITE powered by Travelwise card? Complete the online registration form and we will send you your personalised card in the post.
 
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

causton

Established Member
Joined
4 Aug 2010
Messages
5,502
Location
Somewhere between WY372 and MV7
Is this to prevent people sharing BITE cards?
If so...
Will it prevent people sharing BITE cards?

Or just the paper ones a bit too flimsy :P



Edit: Someone has done a Find + Replace in the Terms & Conditions to replace 'bite' with 'BITE' - with disastrous results!
As a condition of your use of the BITE Card and/or this website, you agree that you will not use the BITE Card or this website for any purpose that is unlawful or prohiBITEd by the Terms.
 

scrapy

Established Member
Joined
15 Dec 2008
Messages
1,378
Apparently it is a security measure to prevent SSP from theft by staff ringing through Bite card discounts and pocketing the difference. If the card has to be physically swiped it makes it less easy. (Of course they will never publically say this).

They also try to combat things like this by insisting everybody has reciepts but as most people don't look at them it is an added security measure.
 

causton

Established Member
Joined
4 Aug 2010
Messages
5,502
Location
Somewhere between WY372 and MV7
Aha, so that's why the establishments are so keen to say 'your order is free if you don't get a receipt'! :D

PS: They don't seem very confident with the method of delivery, mentioning frequently 'if your card is not attached to the letter'!
 

jon0844

Veteran Member
Joined
1 Feb 2009
Messages
24,508
Location
UK
Yes, that's exactly the reason. It means customers are likely to check they get a receipt (hoping perhaps that they won't and get free stuff) which effectively stops staff failing to run things through the till.
 

moonrakerz

Member
Joined
10 Feb 2009
Messages
870
But jeez, how many fields on that form are mandatory? They can sod off if they think they're getting my mobile number.

I just make up a number if they ask for one.

I always put 01234 567890 as my land line number - I did notice that 01234 is Bedford, so apologies to the person who is getting all my marketing calls :lol::lol:
 

Schnellzug

Established Member
Joined
22 Aug 2011
Messages
2,926
Location
Evercreech Junction
i've never heard of it before. "you are now able to update your details by creating an online account and logging in." hmm. Another enterprising way for Retailers to get hold our our email address so they can "target" advertising ..
 

IanXC

Emeritus Moderator
Joined
18 Dec 2009
Messages
5,822
I just make up a number if they ask for one.

I always put 01234 567890 as my land line number - I did notice that 01234 is Bedford, so apologies to the person who is getting all my marketing calls :lol::lol:

If you're feeling guilty about calls received by this possible person you can always use 01632, its the area code reserved by Ofcom for use in TV and film.
 

hluraven

Member
Joined
4 Apr 2012
Messages
131
Signed up for it, the discount will make a baguette at London Bridge merely expensive rather than the current extremely expensive.
 

lincolnshire

Member
Joined
12 Jun 2011
Messages
805
A personal card should show up who is shopping with which retailer and what there buying etc from them and it also should stop the staff fiddling the system by having there own Bite card handy and passing it trough for the discount and pocketing the discount from the till.
Its like a promotion back in B.R. days when they printed a £10 voucher in newspapers, you just cut it out and handed it in at the booking office with your name and address on and received a £10 discount off your train ticket. One snag was some booking office clerks was cutting them out, getting the phone book out and finding a name and address and filling it in and removing £10 out of the till and putting in the voucher ( thank you very much for me £10) only snag was when someone started to ring the claimants on the voucher and ask them how they had enjoyed there day out on the train? and would you believe the answers! never been on a train for years etc.
Where it was proved some booking office clerks got the push.
When ever there is something involving money the is always someone who will work out how to fiddle it and the system.
 

jscho84233

Member
Joined
31 Jan 2012
Messages
77
I always put 01234 567890 as my land line number - I did notice that 01234 is Bedford, so apologies to the person who is getting all my marketing calls :lol::lol:

I have always used that number too, if it was a valid number, they would be getting a hell of a lot of marketing calls!

Thankfully, I have in the past called that number (prefixing with 141 of course), and I got "Sorry, the number you have called has not been recognised."
 

trickyvegas

Member
Joined
10 Dec 2009
Messages
361
Thanks to the OP for the heads-up.

Interested to note on the location list there is a Manchester Victoria Coach Station - wonder if they mean Shuedehill?
 

34D

Established Member
Joined
9 Feb 2011
Messages
6,032
Location
Yorkshire
bite website said:
Why do I need to reapply and re-enter my details? We take the protection of your personal data very seriously. As we are changing the name and other elements of the scheme we are unable to transfer your personal details across from the current database, due to data protection legislation. We would also like to ensure we have the most up-to-date information about you. You will be able to update this yourself from now on.

What a load of rubbish. There are no DPA regulations which this would impact (unless they are somehow saying that the manner in which previous names/addresses were collected for the original card several years ago was uncompliant).

Thanks to big nose mac for bringing this to our attention.
 

All Line Rover

Established Member
Joined
17 Feb 2011
Messages
5,026
By the looks of it you have to over 16 is this true ?

Technically, yes. In practice, of course not! There are a lot of things for which you "technically" have to be 16, but no one cares.

I've had a Bite Card for ages and never had any problems. I imagine the clause is only there to protect their legal position. What for I don't know.
 

SS4

Established Member
Joined
30 Jan 2011
Messages
8,485
Location
Birmingham
Thanks for the heads up. Don't think I'll be renewing though, it's the principle of requiring my mobile number and my date of birth. Burger King at Euston will have to do without my custom.

As a heads up:
Please note that Burger King in Marylebone station is not part of the Scheme so the BITE Card will not be accepted at this outlet.
--- old post above --- --- new post below ---
By the looks of it you have to over 16 is this true ?

It is not mentioned in the terms so I am guessing it's probably something the Information Commissioner has decided to be part of the DPA.
As ALR says I doubt they'll check too hard
 

SAPhil

Member
Joined
27 Jan 2011
Messages
196
I e-mailed them about mobile numbers and got the following reply:

"Please enter 07000 000000 in the mobile phone field and you will be able to proceed with your application."
 

wintonian

Established Member
Joined
15 Jan 2010
Messages
4,889
Location
Hampshire
Thanks, been trying to keep an eye out on this.

It seems as long as you travel from a station beginning with A to a station beginning with A you can apply otherwise you have to either lie or give in. :roll:
--- old post above --- --- new post below ---
Thanks for the heads up. Don't think I'll be renewing though, it's the principle of requiring my mobile number and my date of birth. Burger King at Euston will have to do without my custom.

BK at Marylebone aren’t part of SSP and have never offend the discount as far as I'm aware.
 

SS4

Established Member
Joined
30 Jan 2011
Messages
8,485
Location
Birmingham
I e-mailed them about mobile numbers and got the following reply:

"Please enter 07000 000000 in the mobile phone field and you will be able to proceed with your application."

Is that really the point though? Ask yourself why would they need this information? and if the answer is not satisfying then it's not worth it. All I can imagine they "need" the mobile number for is to SMS offers.

BK at Marylebone aren’t part of SSP and have never offend the discount as far as I'm aware.

Correct, just though it was worth pointing out in case someone erroneously tried
 

Mojo

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Administrator
Joined
7 Aug 2005
Messages
18,106
Location
0035
Thanks, been trying to keep an eye out on this.

It seems as long as you travel from a station beginning with A to a station beginning with A you can apply otherwise you have to either lie or give in. :roll:
On my computer they are actually search boxes. You have to type in the station name (or the first few characters of it) and it finds those matching. Works in a similar manner to station TVMs where you search for a station name.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top