• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Bomb Proof Train

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wath Yard

According to the BBC Newcastle University have developed a 'bomb proof' train:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-tyne-21159423

Researchers test 'bomb-proof' train

Newcastle University engineers have been developing ways to make train carriages blast-resilient.

Methods include plastic-coated windows, energy-absorbing materials and tying down heavy objects and ceiling panels.

Lead researcher Conor O'Neill said the tests showed the development could significantly reduce the number of fatalities in the event of another terrorist attack such as that in London in 2005.
I'm no expert on these things, and look forward to being corrected by people with more knowledge, but my understanding is that if the force of the explosion is kept in a confined area then people are more likely to be killed or injured, therefore isn't it advantageous for the train to be blown apart (as now), rather than keep the forces inside (as per the 'bomb proof' train)?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

HSTEd

Veteran Member
Apparently the design has windows which are designed to blow out which should help prevent a dangerous overpressure being concentrated in the train.

It seems to be based more around the principle of reducing shrapnel injuries and permitting emergency services to have rapid access to the casualties.

jopsuk

Veteran Member
I get the impression it's a similar principle to the way explosive research labs and munitions factories are constructed- contain most of the damage/casualties within a single carriage.