Brighton Problems? (Terminating At Hove)

Status
Not open for further replies.

tbtc

Veteran Member
Joined
16 Dec 2008
Messages
16,147
Location
Yorkshire, Yorkshire, Yorkshire
The 10:50 FGW service from Great Malvern to Brighton is shown as terminating at Hove today.

At first I thought it was like the trick of showing the Leeds - Harrogate - York services as being for Poppleton or Burley Park (to avoid longer distance passengers going the slow way between the two cities), but it appears that it is terminating there (?)

  • 15:45 Worthing On time
  • 15:56 Shoreham-by-Sea On time
  • 16:07 Hove On time
  • 16:14 Brighton (East Sussex) Cancelled

Have trains ever terminated at Hove before?
 
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Ivo

Established Member
Joined
8 Jan 2010
Messages
7,307
Location
Bath (or Southend)
There are shuttles between Brighton and Hove you know ;) Some trains do definitely terminate there.

Does seem odd to terminate a service from the West at Hove though...

Apparently it's been delayed by signalling problems. However, the only problems I know of on its route today were at Gloucester, and it is expected to reach Hove on time. Maybe something is set to block the track at Brighton?
 

tbtc

Veteran Member
Joined
16 Dec 2008
Messages
16,147
Location
Yorkshire, Yorkshire, Yorkshire
There are shuttles between Brighton and Hove you know ;) Some trains do definitely terminate there.

Does seem odd to terminate a service from the West at Hove though...

Apparently it's been delayed by signalling problems. However, the only problems I know of on its route today were at Gloucester, and it is expected to reach Hove on time. Maybe something is set to block the track at Brighton?
Sorry, I should have said "from the west" :oops:

I suppose it'd make sense to terminate a late running eastbound service there to ensure that it hits its westbound slot (since there are connecting trains to/from Brighton), but I'd never seen it happen before.
 

paul1609

Established Member
Joined
28 Jan 2006
Messages
4,074
Location
Wittersham Kent
Sorry, I should have said "from the west" :oops:

I suppose it'd make sense to terminate a late running eastbound service there to ensure that it hits its westbound slot (since there are connecting trains to/from Brighton), but I'd never seen it happen before.
Think the problem is that its normally tucked inside other services on Platform 1. If it doesnt arrive on time it would obstruct coastway services in the evening peak. Think it can only use platforms 1 or 2.



 

ushawk

Established Member
Joined
5 Nov 2010
Messages
1,965
Location
Eastbourne
NRE is showing that the return working from Brighton started there on time as normal - sounds weird.

It did show on the FGW website earlier on that the Great Malvern - Brighton service was to be terminated at BRI, with an additional service covering it between BRI and BTN at its normal times.
 

D1009

Established Member
Joined
22 Feb 2012
Messages
3,166
Location
Stoke Gifford
NRE is showing that the return working from Brighton started there on time as normal - sounds weird.

It did show on the FGW website earlier on that the Great Malvern - Brighton service was to be terminated at BRI, with an additional service covering it between BRI and BTN at its normal times.
Yes that is what happened. Because a separate schedule has to be put in for the replacement train, it doesn't always show in Customer Information Systems.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top