BVE FAQ & Help - Please Read!

Discussion in 'Modelling, Simulations & Games' started by Derek Kaye, 27 Jul 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Derek Kaye

    Derek Kaye Member

    Messages:
    188
    Joined:
    9 Jun 2005
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Moving on from the thread earlier, I have decided to set up this thread to offer help for users. To start with I have included the control keys.

    If you wish to add something, please PM one of the moderators.

    You may also find Steve Green's guide on Installing BVE useful at http://www.trainsimcentral.co.uk

    BVE 2

    2 Handle Cab

    A Decrease power to neutral

    Z Increase power

    < Release Brakes to neutral

    > Increase Brakes

    ? Emergency Brake

    1 Handle Cab

    Q Emergency Brake

    A Increase Brake / Decrease Power

    Z Decrease Brake / Increase Power

    Common Controls

    Enter Horn sound 1

    Shift+Enter Horn Sound 2

    Ctrl+Enter Continuous Horn (e.g. Bell)

    Up Arrow Move reverser forwards

    Down Arrow Move reverser backwards

    Ctrl+F2 Turn safety system off

    Shift+F2 Turn Safety system on

    F3 Toggle Mr Angry on/off

    Shift+F3, Ctrl+F3 Toggle Door/time/framerate information

    F4 Open/Close Timetable

    Shift+F4 Scroll Timetable up

    Ctrl+F4 Scroll Timetable down

    Backspace Speed hold (where installed)

    Delete Cancel vigilance device (EB)

    Insert Stop continuation chime

    End Brake release

    Page Up Change to ATS

    Page Down Change to ATC

    Space ATS verify


    BVE 4

    2 Handle Cab

    A Decrease power to neutral

    Z Increase power

    < Release Brakes to neutral

    > Increase Brakes

    ? Emergency Brake

    1 Handle Cab

    1 Emergency Brake

    Q Increase Brake

    A Move handle to neutral (e.g. Decrease power/brake)

    Z Increase Power

    Common Controls

    Enter Horn sound 1

    + Horn Sound 2

    - Continuous Horn (e.g. Bell)

    Up Arrow Move reverser forwards

    Down Arrow Move reverser backwards

    F2 Toggle Door/Time/framerate/speed display

    F3 Show Timetable

    F4 Zoom in on Timetable

    F5 Reload route

    F6 Open and close doors

    F8 Speed up time

    F10 Pause

    View Controls

    All are on the numpad

    5 Home

    8 Look up

    4 Look left

    6 Look right

    2 Look Down

    0 Zoom out

    . Zoom in

    Mainline trains typical "extra" controls

    Not all trains use these, but they are useful to know. These are the standard ones used by TrainSimCentral-built trains, it's likely others will follow suit but check individual readmes if in doubt. Note that London Underground trains use a different set of keys - see below.

    Space Toggle DRA

    Insert AWS Reset

    Delete Vigilance device reset

    Home Increase Wiper speed

    End Decrease Wiper speed

    Page Up TPWS Tempoary Isolation

    Page Down TPWS TrainStop Override

    (all on number keys above keyboard)

    2 Engine Start

    3 Engine Stop

    4 Toggle Tail Lights

    5 Toggle Head Lights

    6 Driver/Guard Signal

    London Underground typical "extra" controls

    PAGE UP Wipers increase speed / on

    PAGE DN Wipers decrease speed / off

    SPACE Tripcock reset

    8 / 9 / 0 "Custom" buttons - you can turn these on and off but they don't actually do anything to the train. They are used to do things like PA buttons, cab lights etc.

    Remember all keys can be customised by the user.

    For individual extra keys, see the train's documentation - all differ and this is just a guide!

    Edit: updated custom keys bit with LU section - TB
     
  2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

    Rail Forums

     
  3. Derek Kaye

    Derek Kaye Member

    Messages:
    188
    Joined:
    9 Jun 2005
    Location:
    Loughborough
    BVE Folder Structure

    Some People have trouble finding their way around the BVE folders. Both BVE2 and BVE4 have the same folder structure, which is outlined below.

    \railway

    This folder contains three subfolders, described below.

    \railway\route

    This folder contains the route files which you click on when you start BVE. They are normally in a folder which has the name of the route.

    \railway\object

    This folder contains all the object files required by your routes. You will probably find a few files and a load of subfolders which contain the individual files for the route.

    \railway\sound

    This fodler contains all the sound files required by the route, such as passing train engine noises, crossing noises etc.

    \train

    This folder contains all the trains which you have installed on your system. an example of a folder name would be Cl323 or BR_Class87 in the route file, the game looks for the folder name to load the train.



    A common BVE 4 problem

    A problem which often occours with BVE 4 is that a route file installed to BVE4\railway\route will look for a train from BVE4\train when the train is actually installed in BVE\train instead of copying the train over and wasting disk-space, it is advisable to edit the route file to contain something like:

    Code:
    Before:
    Train.Folder Cl323
    
    After:
    Train.Folder ..\..\..\BVE\Train\Cl323
    
    Depending on your directory structure, that may need altering slightly to point to your BVE2 folder. An extra 19 bytes is better than an extra 4MB or there abouts!
     
  4. Coxster

    Coxster Established Member

    Messages:
    9,244
    Joined:
    9 Jun 2005
    As you know, BVE4 only processes .CSV route files but some older routes are in .RW format. Many BVE2 routes work okay in BVE4 (just without all the new features).

    How to load a .RW into BVE4:

    1. Download the 'BVE Route Randomizer' (BVERR) and configure it for BVE2 usage. It is available from http://trainsimcentral.co.uk/misc.htm

    2. Load the desired route with the desired train and exit the simulator.

    3. Load BVE4 and select BRRTemp.csv and it will load your desired route and train. Next time you play BVE via BRR, it will overwite this file so you may wish to re-name it to 'RouteName.csv' or something simular.
     
  5. Coxster

    Coxster Established Member

    Messages:
    9,244
    Joined:
    9 Jun 2005
    Here is a list of timetable codes used in the 'Network West Midlands' routes.

    Thanks to Steve Green for the explanations!

    MA - Maybank
    BD - Brookfield
    NN - Norton
    WL - Wellford
    LH - Ludgate Hill

    REL - Relieve existing crew.
    RELD - Relieved by new crew (usually shows their diagram number so you know who worked the train last).


    JL/JU - Join loco/unit.
    LL/LU - Leave loco/unit.

    AP - Attach portion (couple up).
    DP - Detach portion (uncouple).

    SB - Short break.
    PNB - Personal needs break.
     
  6. mbonwick

    mbonwick Established Member

    Messages:
    6,133
    Joined:
    26 Oct 2006
    Location:
    Milnthorpe (Nr. Kendal)
    Here is the link to the Beginners Guide which I have created. Please post all questions/ comments in the existing thread, which is here

    The link to the guide is http://www.trainsimcentral.co.uk/downloads/misc/bve4tut.pdf

    ______

    If you are new to the world of BVE, please read this carefully BEFORE posting any support requests.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: 31 Jul 2008
  7. reschanger

    reschanger Member

    Messages:
    47
    Joined:
    27 Aug 2007
    This is version 1.0.0.15 of the Resolution Changer for BVE Trainsim 4.2.1947.25355.
    This version comes in English, Italiano (Italian), Deutsch (German), 日本語 (Japanese), 简体中文 (Simplified Chinese) and 繁體中文 (Traditional Chinese) languages.

    This tool allows you to change the display resolution in BVE 4 for both window mode and fullscreen mode to anything you want, not just the default 640x480, 800x600 and 1024x768. Also, you can enable a new effect: Normally BVE 4 will introduce new parts of the scenery in blocks of 25m, but you can now enable BVE to make the scenery smoothly appear at the horizon.

    This is how BVE 4 can look like in mackoy's Keisei Chiba line:
    [​IMG]

    This program is to be distributed in a decentralized fashion. If you want to host it on your website, I would be glad if you did. If you want to modifiy the tool to your needs, the source code is included.

    In the attachment you can find the current version to download. Please make sure you read the readme before using the program. Have fun, and please respond.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. ukneilw

    ukneilw Member

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    25 Jun 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham
    After 5 months of trial and error, process exploring, and general headaches I am pleased to say I have managed to get BVE working on Vista from a clean install (upgrade installations should work already if you had BVE before.)

    Please note if after following these instructions you have a white screen in BVE then the problem is with your graphics card drivers and you should look through the thread for more info. I do not have a solution to this but can tell you that my ATI2600HD works fine as did an older ATI X1300 card which I used to have.

    Here's how you do it:

    Vista x86 (32 bit)

    1. You need to download 3 files, or if you still have XP copy them across to your Vista installation. Those 3 files are:

      dx7vb.dll
      dx8vb.dll
      d3drm.dll

      You can find them on your XP installation under the Windows\System32 directory. The download links are:

      http://www.dlldump.com/download-dll-files_new.php/dllfiles/D/dx7vb.dll/5.03.2600.2180/download.html

      http://www.dlldump.com/download-dll-files_new.php/dllfiles/D/dx8vb.dll/5.03.2600.2180/download.html

      http://www.dlldump.com/download-dll-files_new.php/dllfiles/D/d3drm.dll/5.1.2600.0/download.html

    2. Now that you have those 3 files, you need to put them in the Vista system32 directory, this is usually C:\Windows\System32 - best way to do this is to move them using Windows Explorer.
    3. Go to the Start Button, choose All Programs -> Accessories -> Command Prompt. You should get a black window titled "Administrator: Command Prompt" - if not, right click Command Prompt in the start menu and choose "Run as administrator".
    4. In the command window, type in the following (note that <enter> means press the enter key):

      cd c:\windows\system32 <enter> (assuming windows is on your C: drive, if not put the correct letter in.)

      regsvr32 dx7vb.dll <enter> Click OK on the window that comes up saying dllregserver succeeded

      regsvr32 dx8vb.dll <enter> Click OK on the window that comes up saying dllregserver succeeded

      exit <enter>

      That should be it - give BVE a try.

    Vista x64 (64 bit)

    1. Follow the steps above up to and including opening the command prompt. However, instead of copying the files to c:\windows\system32, copy them to c:\windows\syswow64
    2. In the command window, type in the following (note that <enter> means press the enter key):

      cd c:\windows\syswow64 <enter> (assuming windows is on your C: drive, if not put the correct letter in.)

      regsvr32 dx7vb.dll <enter> Click OK on the window that comes up saying dllregserver succeeded

      regsvr32 dx8vb.dll <enter> Click OK on the window that comes up saying dllregserver succeeded

      exit <enter>

      BVE should now work on Vista x64.



    If you get problems after doing this, try turning off UAC as sometimes this helps BVE to run. I wont give detailed instructions how as Microsoft already do that. On your start menu, go to Help and Support and type in "how to disable UAC", choose the how to turn off User Account Control topic and follow the instructions.

    If you are interested, the technical reason behind why this did not work out of the box is Microsoft stopped providing backward compatibility for DirectX 7 and DirectX 8 starting with the Vista DirectX 10. The only way around this is to copy the 2 support files across from Vista or download them and register them manually. The d3drm.dll file seems to cause a secondary crash if not present, I have no idea why this is not in Vista.

    I tried BVE on NWM on a few runs and it is fine - the only problem I have encountered is that if you run it windowed, the on screen text such as reverser, speed, FPS, etc displays in english with what looks like japanese behind so you can't see it. Running BVE full screen is fine though.

    If you still have problems, post them here and I will see if I can help.

    Have fun,

    Neil :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page