• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Can anyone settle an argument? (Bristol RELH coach)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shimbleshanks

In the mid- to late-1990s, I did a pub crawl in Bath with a mate. On the way back from a pub in the outskirts of the city, we caught a local bus and, instead of the breadvan-type minibus we'd been expecting, quite a sumptuous coach turned up; it must have been some sort of fill-in working or possibly the result of the regular vehicle breaking down.

Anyway, my mate is adamant that the coach we got was a Bristol RELH. - ie one of these: https://www.flickriver.com/photos/21611052@N02/49515739797/ . However, my recollection is of something quite a lot more modern - something like a Leyland Leopard. I'm by no means an expert on buses or coaches, but I would have thought RELHs would have been pretty rare beasts on regular services by that time - and I think even I would have noticed and remarked on it, even after a few pints of scrumpy.

Is anyone knowledgable about the fleets of Bath city operators of 30-odd years ago?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

carlberry

Established Member
In the mid- to late-1990s, I did a pub crawl in Bath with a mate. On the way back from a pub in the outskirts of the city, we caught a local bus and, instead of the breadvan-type minibus we'd been expecting, quite a sumptuous coach turned up; it must have been some sort of fill-in working or possibly the result of the regular vehicle breaking down.