Can multiple via points appear on a ticket?

Discussion in 'Fares Advice & Policy' started by py_megapixel, 20 Jan 2020.

  1. py_megapixel

    py_megapixel Member

    Messages:
    425
    Joined:
    5 Nov 2018
    For example, if a ticket is bought from Manchester to Birmingham, it usually stipulates "VALID ONLY VIA STAFFORD"

    Can multiple stations appear here? For example, could purchasing a ticket beyond Birmingham - to Gloucester, for example - yield "VALID ONLY VIA STAFFORD AND BIRMINGHAM"? (That specific example may not exist, but are there any which do?)
     
  2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

    Rail Forums

     
  3. alistairlees

    alistairlees Established Member

    Messages:
    1,465
    Joined:
    29 Dec 2016
    Yes. I've seen up to three geographic locations:

    Route code 00808
    Valid only for travel via (changing trains or passing through) London, Reading and Stroud.

    There are many combinations of places, operators, and services (e.g. a specific bus or ferry).
     
  4. JB_B

    JB_B Member

    Messages:
    875
    Joined:
    27 Dec 2013
    Examples include -
    00013 TILBRY&GRAVESND
    00362 VIA HIGH WYC&SHR
    00363 VIA H WYC & BIRM
    00625 HONITON AND CLAPHAM JUNCTION
    00626 THORNFORD AND HONITON
    00730 LONDON AND BATTLE
    00761 EDENBRIDGE AND EDENBRIDGE TOWN
    00793 GUILDFORD AND REDHILL
    - there are certainly others.

    I haven't checked whether these are all in current use.
     
  5. jawr256

    jawr256 Member

    Messages:
    103
    Joined:
    15 Apr 2017
    Do you have any more details about this example? According to brfares, all Manchester Stations-Birmingham Stations tickets are ANY PERMITTED or Advance tickets with an operator restriction. The routeing guide permits several routes avoiding Stafford, including via Tamworth. Is your example based on different ticket?
     
  6. maniacmartin

    maniacmartin Established Member Senior Fares Advisor

    Messages:
    5,152
    Joined:
    15 May 2012
    Location:
    Purley
    A route code can be specified with multiple via points. A ticket cannot have multiple route codes though.
     
  7. py_megapixel

    py_megapixel Member

    Messages:
    425
    Joined:
    5 Nov 2018
    It's a ticket I bought quite a while ago now which says "only via Stafford." Don't know I I still have it.

    This was only an example to ask a generic question.
     

Share This Page