• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Careers in Railway Operations

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pacerman99

Hi all, I was wondering if anyone could give me a bit of advice!

I'm currently studying for my A-levels, and would love to get into the rail industry, in the more operational side of things (i.e a driver, or signaller) (straight after college preferably, as the thought of uni doesn't really appeal to me).

I've had a look at apprenticeships, but they all seem to be in more 'hands on' engineering related roles (although I gather a new train drivers apprentice is currently being created).

I'm not too sure where to look, or what to do. Thanks!

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

yorkie

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Administrator
Whereabouts are you based (roughly)?

What A Levels are you studying?

Hopefully someone will be able to provide some advice. Good luck!

Lewis H

I’m pretty certain you have to be 21 to be a driver, that’s pretty certain, not 100% though!

Your best bet will be to approach TOC’s based nearest to you, or network rail.

yorkie

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Administrator
I’m pretty certain you have to be 21 to be a driver, that’s pretty certain, not 100% though!
Yes, except on LU ;)
ITV News, London Tonight, features the youngest person to qualify in the grade of Train Operator. Employed by London Underground on the District Line.

Pacerman99

Whereabouts are you based (roughly)?

What A Levels are you studying?

Hopefully someone will be able to provide some advice. Good luck!