Changing Cab Brightness

Status
Not open for further replies.

The Snap

Established Member
Joined
10 Jun 2005
Messages
3,118
Hi guys,
Again, another .beacon command, I think...? In the Northern Line v3, for example, just after Golders Green, the line goes into a tunnel, and the brightness of the cab goes from bright, to really black with highlighted dials/buttons etc. I just wondered if it was a .beacon command that made this happen, if so, what is it? And if not, what does do this?
Thanks a lot! :D
 
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

T

Tom

Guest
Code:
.brightness 0;
I think you need that, there is no beacon code for it as it is a default for BVE4 IIRC.
 

The Snap

Established Member
Joined
10 Jun 2005
Messages
3,118
OK, that's great. What is the code for the cab lightening up again, as it comes out of a tunnel> (.brightness 100 or something?).
Thanks,
 

Tom B

Established Member
Joined
27 Jul 2005
Messages
4,555
No, brightness has 256 possibilities, thus it is 0 - 255.

Brightness 0 will give you a totally black cab, I used 20 I think to simulate tunnels. Otherwise you can't see a thing!
 

The Snap

Established Member
Joined
10 Jun 2005
Messages
3,118
Cockfosters said:
No, brightness has 256 possibilities, thus it is 0 - 255.

Brightness 0 will give you a totally black cab, I used 20 I think to simulate tunnels. Otherwise you can't see a thing!

OK, I'll use 20. is it 256 for the complete outer-tunnel cab (the original)?
 

Tom B

Established Member
Joined
27 Jul 2005
Messages
4,555
Rhys said:
and then its a trial and error

Not really, you can reduce the brightness of a cab image and see what it looks like in another program.

Richard: Nope, it's 255, as there are 256 values and the lowest is 0.[/quote]
 

The Snap

Established Member
Joined
10 Jun 2005
Messages
3,118
Not really, you can reduce the brightness of a cab image and see what it looks like in another program.

Richard: Nope, it's 255, as there are 256 values and the lowest is 0.

Thanks, I'll sort it out now! :D
 

The Snap

Established Member
Joined
10 Jun 2005
Messages
3,118
Sorted! Not quite though! :( I put in .brightness 255, at the top of my With Track section (along with the height etc), and then put in .brightness 20, when I enter a tunnel. However, the cab foes dark well before the tunnel, and stays that way until i come out of the tunnel, where I put the .brightness 255 again!!!??? Do I ned to put .brightness 255 every 500m or something? Help please! :D
 

Tom B

Established Member
Joined
27 Jul 2005
Messages
4,555
If you have, say

100,.brightness 255,
200,.brightness 20,

BVE will calculate a graduated change from 255 to 20 between 100 and 200m. Thus you need another .brightness 255, where you want the graduation to begin.

HTH
 

The Snap

Established Member
Joined
10 Jun 2005
Messages
3,118
Cockfosters said:
If you have, say

100,.brightness 255,
200,.brightness 20,

BVE will calculate a graduated change from 255 to 20 between 100 and 200m. Thus you need another .brightness 255, where you want the graduation to begin.

HTH

Ahhhhh! :D BVE is very good, but extremely complicated. But, I supose it is easy when you get used to it. I'll try that, and let you know how I get on! :D
Thanks Tom! :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top