• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Chiltern delays

Status
Not open for further replies.

NSE

Established Member
Hey, was on the 18:36 to Aylesbury at Marylebone tonight, and we were waiting to depart. A loco hauled set then turned up next to us. The driver for our train then turned up apologising for being late as he was the driver of said loco hauled set from Birmingham (do drivers swap on this route? Or would he do the whole journey in one go? I.e. Birmingham all the way through to Marylebone or maybe start at Banbury for example) and he was delayed and no other driver was around to take the set.
My questions are, what caused the loco hauled set to delayed, and why in the peak did Chiltern not have backup drivers? (apologies if this comment may seem arrogant, or the answer obvious, I have no knowledge in driver schedule type stuff so this is a genuine unknown to me)

Many thanks

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

barrykas

Established Member
Hey, was on the 18:36 to Aylesbury at Marylebone tonight, and we were waiting to depart. A loco hauled set then turned up next to us. The driver for our train then turned up apologising for being late as he was the driver of said loco hauled set from Birmingham (do drivers swap on this route? Or would he do the whole journey in one go? I.e. Birmingham all the way through to Marylebone or maybe start at Banbury for example) and he was delayed and no other driver was around to take the set.

It varies. Sometimes they swap at Banbury, other times they work all the way through.