Class 320 Scotrail

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
29 Nov 2010
Messages
139
Location
Glasgow
I used to live in the North Clyde and Argyle lines and ever since the 320s were introduced years and years ago they only ever operated through Glasgow Queen St low level, never Central. I know they rearranged the stock when Airdrie to Bathgate came in which meant all the 314s which used to accompany the 318s via Glasgow Central moved to the Edinburgh services.

My question is was there a particular reason 320s never used to go via Central and if so what has happened to now allow this?
 
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

alexf380

Established Member
Joined
6 Mar 2011
Messages
1,214
Location
Musselburgh, Scotland
I think the reason was they needed new units for the North Clyde lines and they were never displaced until now. I also believe there were some minor guage clearance issues on the hamilton circle but that has been resolved now.

Alex.
 

matchmaker

Member
Joined
8 Mar 2009
Messages
1,079
Location
Central Scotland
I used to live in the North Clyde and Argyle lines and ever since the 320s were introduced years and years ago they only ever operated through Glasgow Queen St low level, never Central. I know they rearranged the stock when Airdrie to Bathgate came in which meant all the 314s which used to accompany the 318s via Glasgow Central moved to the Edinburgh services.

My question is was there a particular reason 320s never used to go via Central and if so what has happened to now allow this?

They didn't have retention toilets so weren't allowed on the Argyle Line. As part of their refurbishment retention toilets are being fitted.
 

Railsigns

Established Member
Joined
15 Feb 2010
Messages
1,764
They didn't have retention toilets so weren't allowed on the Argyle Line. As part of their refurbishment retention toilets are being fitted.
The 320s were built without any sort of toilet.
 
Joined
29 Nov 2010
Messages
139
Location
Glasgow
So the 2 reasons were no gauge problems and no toilet. Why do they need a toilet on the Argyle Line but not North Clyde? Off the top of my head Helensburgh/Balloch to Drumgelloch stopper couldn't have taken much less time than Dalmuir to Lanark/Coatbridge Central?

Any other reasons.

I presumed there were actual reasons for it as alluded to above, I just didn't know what they were, are there others?
 

Railsigns

Established Member
Joined
15 Feb 2010
Messages
1,764
So the 2 reasons were no gauge problems and no toilet. Why do they need a toilet on the Argyle Line but not North Clyde?
Toilets have nothing to do with it. After all, the 314s didn't have toilets either. I think Matchmaker was implying that until recently, the 320s had toilets that emptied onto the track but that is not the case - they had no toilets whatsoever.
 
Joined
29 Nov 2010
Messages
139
Location
Glasgow
My bad I meant 334s obviously, it was them that were cascaded to A2B when it opened, 314s have been off that line for about 10 years.
 

ianthescot

Member
Joined
1 Feb 2009
Messages
21
Location
Scotland
Further to other comments, there were issues with monitors etc with DOO as the 320 cab "windows" are too small to be classed as windows (don't ask me why, I'm only the driver !). Also they did not have yaw dampers and so their top speed was only 75mph and Lanark/Carstairs timings require 90mph capable traction. As a driver, toilets were an issue for me personally as Milngavie to Motherwell and then on to Dalmuir meant that we sit on the same train for over 2 hours with no access to toilet (and no, I have never personally used the washer bottle for that :oops:).
 
Joined
29 Nov 2010
Messages
139
Location
Glasgow
Further to other comments, there were issues with monitors etc with DOO as the 320 cab "windows" are too small to be classed as windows (don't ask me why, I'm only the driver !). Also they did not have yaw dampers and so their top speed was only 75mph and Lanark/Carstairs timings require 90mph capable traction. As a driver, toilets were an issue for me personally as Milngavie to Motherwell and then on to Dalmuir meant that we sit on the same train for over 2 hours with no access to toilet (and no, I have never personally used the washer bottle for that :oops:).

What is this?
 

Sadsmileyface

Member
Joined
20 Sep 2010
Messages
184
Location
Glasgow, Scotchland
As a driver, toilets were an issue for me personally as Milngavie to Motherwell and then on to Dalmuir meant that we sit on the same train for over 2 hours with no access to toilet (and no, I have never personally used the washer bottle for that :oops:).

Those are just depot horror stories, right? Nobody actually does... that...?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top