• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Control of Multiple Engines

Status
Not open for further replies.

Metroman62

As I am not very technically minded, I was wondering how multiple engines on trains are controlled to ensure they are all providing power and not being dragged or pshed by another. What I mean by this is when a train is being doubled headed by locomotives, or the various different engines on a multiple unit, how is it ensured that they are providing the correct power to stop the front one pulling the one behind if that is not in sync, or the one behind pushing the one in front if they are out of synce. I can imagine with modern trains there could be a computerised system to monitor such things,but on older units how do all the engines stay in synce so that non are pushign or pulling the others?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Taunton

Established Member
The magic words are "multiple unit", which you can find many references to on the web. It's been around for more than a century on electric multiple units, and got onto diesel locos and then diesel railcars pretty much from the start.

In the USA where it was universal from the earliest diesel times the Association of American railroads (AAR) have long published technical standards which have ensured you can multiple pretty much anything with anything over there, regardless of age or manufacturer. The US have got much cleverer with this in recent times and can actually have unmanned freight locomotives mid-train under remote command from the front, using a combination of radio signals and measuring the pull through the couplings.