• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Driver only operated trains External cameras

Status
Not open for further replies.

JeffMersey

When visiting my family in the south I noticed that nearly all the trains I got on were driver only operated with the external door cameras. I have afew queries to how they work ? Are they constantly playing on the drivers monitor ? If so wouldn’t this use a lot of memory ? And when it pulls into a station does the driver choose which side of the trains cameras to be displayed ? Or are they only activated once arrived onto the platform ?
I am a retired merseyrail driver and just wasn’t sure if this whole new technology is really efficient?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

aleggatta

When visiting my family in the south I noticed that nearly all the trains I got on were driver only operated with the external door cameras. I have afew queries to how they work ? Are they constantly playing on the drivers monitor ? If so wouldn’t this use a lot of memory ? And when it pulls into a station does the driver choose which side of the trains cameras to be displayed ? Or are they only activated once arrived onto the platform ?
I am a retired merseyrail driver and just wasn’t sure if this whole new technology is really efficient?