• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Effect of fog on railways?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Howardh

Established Member
Been reading the on-line papers and noted many flights cancelled + slow driving on motorways due to heavy fog.

No reports of any train delays or cancellations, so made me wonder has there been any fog-related train disruption today, and more widely how thick has fog to be to be a problem for the railways? I assume as long as the signals can be seen it's no different than travelling at night?

But I'm just a layman, please educate me!!

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

ComUtoR

Established Member
Fog has not been a problem in my experience. We are on rails :)

Drive it like you stole it.

2Dogbox

As drivers we are expected to drive to the linespeed during fog where possible. This is why there are no train delays.

We have route knowledge to enable us to drive knowing where we are and where the signals will be, although its not always easy. Some of the routes I drive where we still have absolute block the signals can be very difficult to see so you are relying on a "feel" for where you are really, the same applies to knowing where to brake for stations etc. You have to be very alert and very cautious at the same time. Not my favourite weather condition at all!

I had the full house one day last week; darkness, fog and low-adhesion with light rain.

Howardh

Established Member
In really heavy fog, could a driver sail past a station where s/he was supposed to stop?

61653 HTAFC

Veteran Member
There's occasional slight delays caused by reduced signal sighting I think, but often these minor delays can be made up on stretches where visibility isn't compromised so much.