• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Ellesmere Port Docks Lines/Sidings

Status
Not open for further replies.

soasccs

Hi all, apologies if this is in the wrong forum section - I wasn't sure.

Before christmas I was working on a distribution contract up near the old Ellesmere Port docks - I'm from way down south and it was my first time up there, and I have very little knowledge of the area. Stumbled upon the several level crossings in the area on this old dock branches. Colleagues from the local area just dismissed it as 'trains haven't been along here for years!' or 'since we were kids!' etc. However the track looked fairly well maintained still and probably useable - in addition there seemed to be some lit signal lights still on the track so it got me curious. At one of the level crossings the track is however gated off and a bit overgrown.

I've done some research and it seems like the line came back in to use in the noughties and coal trains ran to Manisty Wharf until circa 2012-ish? There was also a sand/glass train that ran on the branch to the right to ex-Cawoods up until around 2016, until it moved to their new sidings down near Cheshire Jct. I've also found that Vauxhall were trialling car trains for a while, a couple of years ago. Does anyone know if the Vauxhall trains have continued? If not, does anyone know when the last train to run on each branch was (one branch to Manisty, and the short one to Cawoods)? Is there any occasional traffic still using the branches or any likelihood of it restarting?