• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Firefighter looking to change career

Status
Not open for further replies.

allan smith

Hi there apologies if this has been posted before.

I am currently a firefighter and emergency response driver with 20 years experience based just out side of Glasgow, basically i am looking for advice on the application form for trainee drivers and the subsequent selection process should i get past the first hurdle.

Any hints or tips greatly appreciated .

Last edited:
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

C J Snarzell

Established Member
Hi mate

I was in the police for 15 years so I fully appreciate your background as our roles often crossed over.

I can't speak for the fire service but there are a lot of ex-police officers now working in the rail industry.

I don't know what part of the country you are from but I live in the North West. I applied to Northern a short while ago and dipped two applications which failed the initial paper sift. I kind of took it for granted that my police career would sell me but sadly not. A few of the forum members on here were kind enough to give me some tips and advice about where I possibly went wrong. Unfortunately, Northern don't provide feedback if you fail the paper sift so I'm only guessing about where I went wrong.

The main advice I would give is as follows:-

A very strong CV and cover letter is vital. Northern ask for details of references, but the mistake I made was not providing their details. Most potential employers request two references so make sure you provide their details as soon as possible. I don't think you need the actual references themselves as I believe the potential employer should contact your referees at the final stage.