Forum downtime, 13 October

Discussion in 'Forum Information & Announcements' started by Mojo, 12 Oct 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mojo

    Mojo Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    15,275
    Joined:
    7 Aug 2005
    Location:
    0035
    In order to enable us to move servers to improve speed and also enable an improved search facility, the forum will be down from 9am tomorrow for around 1 hour.
     
  2. Paul Sidorczuk

    Paul Sidorczuk Veteran Member

    Messages:
    23,278
    Joined:
    17 Apr 2011
    Location:
    The very best part of rural Cheshire East.
    I will be interested to see what the stated improved search facility will cover.
     
  3. Blindtraveler

    Blindtraveler Established Member

    Messages:
    7,676
    Joined:
    28 Feb 2011
    Location:
    Nowhere near enough to a Pacer :(
    Good luck to all involved in this latest service enhancement. Do we have our own servers or is it done through a hosting orgonisation and if the latter are we moving or simply upgrading?
    Sorry to be nosy.

    Cheers.
     
  4. IanD

    IanD Established Member

    Messages:
    2,259
    Joined:
    18 Sep 2011
    Location:
    Newport Pagnell
    Bugger, I'll have to do some work :'(
     
  5. jcollins

    jcollins Veteran Member

    Messages:
    25,252
    Joined:
    23 Jan 2009
    Not sure if it's already known about but I can't log in using Google Chrome at the moment (I've tried a few times.) I tried using Microsoft Edge and it let me log in first time.
     
  6. Lrd

    Lrd Established Member Jobs & Careers Assistant

    Messages:
    2,606
    Joined:
    26 Jul 2010
    Location:
    London
    I keep getting some odd issues with logging in. I log in and it appears to not let me log in, I refresh the page and I'm still logged out but click on the RUK logo and I'm logged in.

    This is Chrome on Android...
     
  7. essex_commuter

    essex_commuter Member

    Messages:
    28
    Joined:
    18 May 2012
    I get the same issue. You are only logged in when viewing the site on https. The auth cookie is set as secure, meaning it will only be passed over https. Therefore, being logged in when browsing on http is not possible.
     
  8. F Great Eastern

    F Great Eastern Established Member

    Messages:
    1,469
    Joined:
    2 Apr 2009
    Location:
    East Anglia
    By default the forum goes to HTTP if you type it in, in the address bar, which means that you cannot login.

    Previously it would redirect to HTTPS when you typed the address in.
     
  9. Class172

    Class172 Established Member Quizmaster

    Messages:
    2,853
    Joined:
    20 Mar 2011
    Location:
    Droitwich Spa
    Same here. I've managed to post this (on Chrome) by typing the https:// prefix in manually, which logged me straight in, so I'm not sure why it isn't defaulting to that.
     
  10. skyhigh

    skyhigh Member

    Messages:
    273
    Joined:
    14 Sep 2014
    Same here, although when browsing it keeps switching to the http version and logging me out, which is a bit of a pain
     
  11. Mojo

    Mojo Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    15,275
    Joined:
    7 Aug 2005
    Location:
    0035
    Hopefully this should be okay for you now. As part of the server move all the redirects that previously applied no longer took effect, in order to minimise downtime the site went back live without them in place, however most have now been restored. Still have to ensure people that visit without the www. at the start of the domain are sent to the right place though.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page