Forum Update

Discussion in 'Forum Information & Announcements' started by Mojo, 4 Oct 2017.

  1. skyhigh

    skyhigh Member

    Messages:
    402
    Joined:
    14 Sep 2014
    A computer where the print screen key isn't working ;)

    Here's a mobile screenshot:
    (Text reads "Please can we ensure that we keep on topic about ATO in Thameslink core rather than discussions about people’s apparent wishes for driverless trains which this topic is nothing to do with" in a white box at the top of a user's post)
     
  2. BlueFox

    BlueFox Member

    Messages:
    409
    Joined:
    20 May 2013
    I use a program called Cropper. It lets you select the part of the screen you want to take an image of, so it's much more useful than taking a copy of the whole screen. https://github.com/brhinescot/Cropper/releases
     
  3. Domh245

    Domh245 Established Member

    Messages:
    3,815
    Joined:
    6 Apr 2013
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Windows also comes with a built in program with similar functionality called "Snipping Tool"
     
  4. najaB

    najaB Veteran Member

    Messages:
    16,717
    Joined:
    28 Aug 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    If you're using Windows 7 or later, the built in Snipping Tool does everything you need.
     
  5. BlueFox

    BlueFox Member

    Messages:
    409
    Joined:
    20 May 2013
    Cropper is easier to use if you just want to save the image, as it saves everything automatically. Snipping Tool has more features, but it takes a bit longer to select the image and save it.
     
  6. TT-ONR-NRN

    TT-ONR-NRN On Moderation

    Messages:
    2,416
    Joined:
    30 Dec 2016
    Location:
    Windlesham
    I’m liking the new forum update (the proper version that was released) :) May I ask why we have to relog in after changing Wi-Fi though?

    Is it possible to relax the 10 person maximum on conversations though? That’s caused no end of problems for myself and and about twelve others! :)
     
  7. Mojo

    Mojo Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    16,017
    Joined:
    7 Aug 2005
    Location:
    0035
    Maybe you cleared your cookies or something?
     
  8. Adlington

    Adlington Member

    Messages:
    416
    Joined:
    3 Oct 2016
    Changing WiFi means changing the IP address. And some sites (including my email provider) drop the connection when the IP changes mid-session, apparently for security reasons.
     
  9. A Challenge

    A Challenge Established Member

    Messages:
    1,391
    Joined:
    24 Sep 2016
    I thought it was done on MAC address?
     
  10. Mojo

    Mojo Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    16,017
    Joined:
    7 Aug 2005
    Location:
    0035
    This site isn't one of those however, your session data is stored on a cookie.
     
  11. Adlington

    Adlington Member

    Messages:
    416
    Joined:
    3 Oct 2016
    oh yes, it is....
    1. I logged in
    2. While logged it, changed my IP (by going through a VPN)
    3. Returned to the forum, and was prompted to login again
     
  12. TT-ONR-NRN

    TT-ONR-NRN On Moderation

    Messages:
    2,416
    Joined:
    30 Dec 2016
    Location:
    Windlesham
    Uh-huh. Same for me!
    I don’t do anything complicated like that though I simply change from I don’t know, class 165 wifi to class 387 wifi and it makes me log in again.
     
  13. Mojo

    Mojo Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    16,017
    Joined:
    7 Aug 2005
    Location:
    0035
    If you click the ‘Remember me’ button then you will always remain logged on that device only, regardless of your IP address.

    If you do not do this then your session will end when your IP is changed. This is to be expected and as per standard software design. The reason your account stays logged in is however nothing to do with the IP.
     
  14. najaB

    najaB Veteran Member

    Messages:
    16,717
    Joined:
    28 Aug 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    No, it isn't. I stay logged in on VPN or off and as I switch from WiFi to 4G and back.
     
  15. A Challenge

    A Challenge Established Member

    Messages:
    1,391
    Joined:
    24 Sep 2016
    The remember me will be stored on your computer (with a reference on the forum to verify it is) against the computers individual MAC address, as it 'forgets' you when you leave the forum and if you reappear on a different wifi it doesn't recognise you as the remember me isn't there.

    This appears to be wrong - i will need to check my facts on this and see I can come up with a way to say it better!
     
    Last edited: 10 Apr 2018
  16. najaB

    najaB Veteran Member

    Messages:
    16,717
    Joined:
    28 Aug 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    That's not my understanding of how session cookies work. How does that handle a switch from wireless to wired connection?
     
  17. Crossover

    Crossover Established Member

    Messages:
    7,166
    Joined:
    4 Jun 2009
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Complete nonsense. The forum software won’t store anything to verify it and certainly won’t be anything to do with a device MAC address (which isn’t guaranteed to unique anyway)
     
  18. najaB

    najaB Veteran Member

    Messages:
    16,717
    Joined:
    28 Aug 2011
    Location:
    Scotland
    Yes, but you don't have to be blunt about it. Much nicer to ask a pointed question that shows how wrong it is. :D
     
  19. Crossover

    Crossover Established Member

    Messages:
    7,166
    Joined:
    4 Jun 2009
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Nah, when it’s wrong, it’s wrong :P
     
  20. backontrack

    backontrack Established Member

    Messages:
    5,305
    Joined:
    2 Feb 2014
    Location:
    The UK
    It would be nice if this were possible - I'm one of those twelve others!
     

Share This Page