• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Friend being prosecuted for allegedly attempting to use husband's Season ticket (but did not use it)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ginger40

Hi,
I'm a newbie here. Heard worrying news from a friend about a court summons by London Midland. Friend works in Bedford but had a work meeting in London on said morning. Her husband who recently become a London train commuter gave her his Season/monthly ticket as he was working from home that day to save her queuing up.
Friend arrives at station and at the barrier walks up to ticket inspector to ask 'can I use this ticket' and everything blows up as she was now detained by collector for fraudulent use of another's ticket and fare evasion.
Note...
She hadn't used ticket yet
She hadn't crossed barrier
She had actually gone to ask if it was alright
She went on to buy a ticket (which was going to be paid for by her Employer anyway), but has now received a court summons in the post.

I feel she has a strong case for court but the whole idea of possible conviction and a criminal record has her extremely worried. She engaged a lawyer but even he gives her no hope as he says court proceedings can drag on, cost her money and it's not weighted in her favor. He has advised an out of court settlement.
So far this has cost her
A new season's ticket for her husband as his
barely used ticket was seized.
Lawyer's fees and potential settlement fees.

Is that really her best option? Is there another form of appeal?

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

cuccir

Established Member
Hello!