• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Glasgow - Inverness ticket valid via Aberdeen?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bittern

Established Member
Just wondering about this. Would an off-peak day return (for a Saturday) booked in advance for a trip from Glasgow Queen Street - Inverness be valid on a Glasgow - Aberdeen train, changing at Aberdeen for an Inverness train?

Thanks.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

I'm afraid I don't think it would be valid - Routeing guide shows maps [FD],[GA] neither of which include the Aberdeen - Inverness line, and it is not the shortest route, and there are no direct trains taking that route. Apologies if this is wrong - I'm a Routeing Guide newbie!

The 'booking in advance' bit is irrelevant on an Off-Peak Day Return.

cheers

Yes. See map below for variations allowed

Peter

Sorry, I didn't see that map. I looked at the wrong routeing points in the guide and therefore the wrong maps.

However, just noticed the following Easement:
Customers travelling between Inverness and Perth may travel via Aberdeen. This easement applies in both directions.

So I guess it is valid and I stand corrected.

Last edited:

transportphoto

Established Member
Associate Staff
Quizmaster
No because the OP is travelling between Glasglow & Inverness.

However, just noticed the following Easement:
Customers travelling between Inverness and Perth may travel via Aberdeen. This easement applies in both directions.

So I guess it is valid and I stand corrected.

Greenback

Emeritus Moderator
Yes it is valid! How do you get from Glasgow to Inverness without visitng Perth?!

transportphoto

Established Member
Associate Staff
Quizmaster