• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Good Locations in and around Edinburgh

Status
Not open for further replies.

RyanB

OK so today I took the plunge and went to Kingsknowe and did some photography, my first time - after much procrastination on my part I've been saying I'll do it one day for a couple years now :lol:.

Now I'm hoping the members of the forum can give me some guidance as to good locations around Edinburgh (not necessarily at stations) where I can take some photos and also any tips you can give a budding rail photographer?

Cheers

RyanB

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Established Member
Yes but would be willing to take bus or cycle as well

How far are you looking at going?

Depending on the weather and where the sun is, Turnhouse can be quite good down this lane, but watch yourself turning into it - I have to take it at an angle or my car will bottom out. I've not been down there for a while, but if the pothole in the middle of the entrance is there, go round the side of it, don't try and drive through it.

A couple of places around Craigentinny that I've used before are here and here.
The first one can be ok for photos, but last time I went there (a year or two back) the bushes were starting to grow and block the view, making it tricky to get anything decent. The second I've only been to a couple of times, and was better than I was expecting, but not amazing.

Since you've been to Kingsknowe, try the foot crossings further along the line.
This one is better for video rather than photos, but it is possible to get half decent photos.
I prefer this one, personally, as it has long straights either side.