• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Hidden rules/drivers hours laws

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nic nic

Hello all,

I was wondering if someone may be able to explain how drivers hours laws work for a train driver in the UK.
I currently work in the road freight industry and we must ensure drivers do not exceed an average of 48 hours per week over a 26 week reference period. Does it work in a similar way? Just with it averaging 35 hours? Also what are the rules on breaks and rest periods? And what reference period do you guys average your hours over? I am guessing POA is non existant

Many thanks in advance

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

tiptoptaff

Established Member
The basics of Hidden are that safety critical staff cannot work more than 12hours in a single shift, must have a minimum of 12hours rest between shifts and cannot work more than 14 consecutive days without a rest day.
The "average hours" across the rosters merely refers to the fact that drivers are contracted for a 32hour 4day week (at my place, different other places of course) and the nature of train crew diagrams mean that some weeks they work more and some weeks they work less, thus it is averaged out over their cycle. That length of cycle depends on the size of the depot and the links at that depot. Some places it's a small depot and only 10 weeks, one depot at my former TOC is was over 100 weeks.

t_star2001uk

So, to start with the hidden report recommendation 18 did not state anything about specific working hours

18. BR shall ensure that overtime is monitored so that no individual is working excessive levels of overtime.