Hornby A1 Tornado DCC Fitting

Discussion in 'Modelling, Simulations & Games' started by Peter C, 25 Sep 2019.

  1. Peter C

    Peter C Established Member

    Messages:
    1,525
    Joined:
    13 Oct 2018
    Location:
    Loading...
    Hello all,
    Having looked at the Hornby "Tornado Express" starter set, I was wondering - how would I fit a Hornby DCC Decoder in it? I'm talking about the following one:
    https://railsofsheffield.com/produc...-hornby-digital-4-function-locomotive-decoder
    (Sorry I can't quote it, I'm using my phone)

    I was just wondering if it was a "take the engine apart" job or a "rip the tender to pieces" doodah. If anyone has this Tornado and wouldn't mind sending me the appropriate documents (loco care pages) I would be very grateful.


    Thanks in advance,

    -Peter

    EDIT: I've had a look at the Hornby Service Sheet for Tornado (Sheet 366) and it turns out the fitting of a DCC decoder will be through taking off the engine bodyshell. Does anyone know if the models in question here have a lot of space to fit the decoder and if they are easy to take apart to do so?
     
    Last edited: 26 Sep 2019
  2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

    Rail Forums

     
  3. SCH117X

    SCH117X Member

    Messages:
    850
    Joined:
    27 Nov 2015
    Body removal is described in the operating and maintenance instructions https://www.hornby.com/uk-en/downloads/view/download/item/211
    Its Hornbys old single screw at the front - slot tab at the rear fixing system which is somewhat long in the tooth, works okay for locos with little or no added on detail but a pretty poor arrangement for those with stacks of add ons as any flexing of the body can lead to parts breaking or dropping off. Should not be a problem with Tornado - the greater issue is ensuring the slot tab is fitted correctly when reassembling. The Hornby R8249 is a pretty basic decoder, I avoid it as I like to tweak the speed settings beyond what it is capable of, but as a Hornby designed loco I would think its should fit okay.
     
  4. Peter C

    Peter C Established Member

    Messages:
    1,525
    Joined:
    13 Oct 2018
    Location:
    Loading...
    Thanks very much. Valuable info. I'll use the Hornby basic Decoder, purely because it's cheap and easy to get hold of for me. :) And I'm not interested in fiddling around with speed settings- I've heard it can break engines in the worst circumstances!

    -Peter
     
  5. SCH117X

    SCH117X Member

    Messages:
    850
    Joined:
    27 Nov 2015
    Not heard of that being an issue - I always cap the top speed of the loco to something prototypical for it and the layout it is running on, for example a shunter capped to a slow crawl and hence I can whack the power knob to full and leave it trundling along the layout whilst sorting out the fiddle yard for example. For its features, or rather lack of them, I would not call the R8249 cheap at a list price of a penny off £21.
     

Share This Page