• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

How fast are freight trains in the UK ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Siggi155

Hello out there
I wonder just how fast freight trains can drive in Britain? In the wikipedia I've read that classes 90 and 92 are limited to a top speed of 75 mph (120 kph). Is that the allowable maximum speed freight trains can operate? What about the channel tunnel and its affiliated lines? I'm eagerly interested in, cause I'm a driver myself. Here in Germany we have a small range of services, which are allowed to run at about 87 mph (140 kph) using the high speed lines at night. These are exlusivly container trains hauled by DB classes 152 or 189.

Thank you for answering.. Greets from here to there
Siggi

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

class 313

Established Member
The highest speed limit stated by Liam, is because of the freight wagon(thingys) arnt they? But isn't the Postal train classed as freight? Because the cl325s are 100mph max.

Established Member
Think the Mossend-Wembley Parcelforce 'Piggyback' was a 90mph train, not that it lasted long.

Don't forget you've got the 100mph mail trains...people seem to forget that mail is freight too!

ChrisCooper

Established Member