How to change the file size in IrfanView?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Coxster

Established Member
Joined
9 Jun 2005
Messages
9,244
By compressing it... Quality will always be lost when compressing to a certain extent.
 

Guinness

Established Member
Joined
13 Jun 2005
Messages
3,737
Reducing the colour amount. I've forgotten what the actual term of its called.
 

class 313

Established Member
Joined
10 Dec 2005
Messages
6,477
Location
St Albans
i got somthing from 45kb to 13 (14kb i dunno) without losing on detail, but i used paint shop pro
 

Tom B

Established Member
Joined
27 Jul 2005
Messages
4,559
If you're on about compressing stuff for an avatar reduce the size. Also save in a sensible format - i.e. not a windoze bitmap! The JPG algorithm in Irfan seems to be particularly efficient.
 
T

Tom

Guest
Cockfosters said:
If you're on about compressing stuff for an avatar reduce the size. Also save in a sensible format - i.e. not a windoze bitmap! The JPG algorithm in Irfan seems to be particularly efficient.
Is even more efficient in Adobe Photoshop CS2.
 

Sprog

Established Member
Joined
6 Sep 2005
Messages
1,315
Location
SPM
tubechallenger said:
Cockfosters said:
If you're on about compressing stuff for an avatar reduce the size. Also save in a sensible format - i.e. not a windoze bitmap! The JPG algorithm in Irfan seems to be particularly efficient.
Is even more efficient in Adobe Photoshop CS2.

Agreeed! 8) 8)
 

Coxster

Established Member
Joined
9 Jun 2005
Messages
9,244
class 313 said:
i got somthing from 45kb to 13 (14kb i dunno) without losing on detail, but i used paint shop pro
45kb -> 13kb is a difference of 32kb,
114kb -> 3kb is a difference of 110kb, well over 3 times the drop in your file's size!
 

devon_metro

Established Member
Joined
11 Oct 2005
Messages
7,602
Location
London
I Managed to get my Avatar down from 231Kb to 2.7Kb without compromising on quality using photo shop.
 

Tom B

Established Member
Joined
27 Jul 2005
Messages
4,559
class 313 said:
i got somthing from 45kb to 13 (14kb i dunno) without losing on detail, but i used paint shop pro

I'm guessing the 14kb figure comes from Bindoze Explorer, which decides that (treating us as idiot n00bs as usual) we can't handle decimals...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top