• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

I am so scared: TfL contactless issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ykb

I received a letter from tfl asking for my side of an event.

I am new to London, just started university. I was travelling early in morning to school, on getting to the underground we were all directed to use the Overground, due to fire alert I touched in and on getting to London Liverpool street the barriers was not letting me out so I called on staff, he tried my debit card on his device and said I was travelling without a valid ticket, I told him that I use my debit card to travel all the time without any obstructions, showed him my statement on my mobile app that I travel almost everyday and I pay with my debit card. He took my details, then I received a letter from tfl, threatening to sue me.

I rang my bank and they told me that TfL tried to take out money from my account last night but other payment had gone through leaving not enough money for tfl.

I never knew all this happened in the morning, my balance was not on minus. I only put in money that I needed for the day before stepping out and was sure I had money before travelling.

Tfl tried again on the day of the incident and the money went through. I am still using the same debit card for travel.

What should I do? They said:
  1. I can deny committing the offence, or
  2. Accept committing the offence.

Last edited by a moderator:
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

PeterC

Established Member
Sounds as if your card had been blacklisted. If your budget is that tight it might be safer to use Oyster as nothing else is going to debit the card.