• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Interrail 10 in 22 day 1st Class

Status
Not open for further replies.

tgsh2011

Well I decided to do a 10 in 22 day 1st class Interrail, which I am currently progressing through. I am no rail expert and have no knowledge of locomotives etc. That being said, I did fancy the idea of exploring some of Europe by rail and experiencing some of the more premium lines; as well as increasing my country and city count!

The pass was bought at the Rail Europe office in Lower Regent Street London last Friday (4 November) and I commenced my journey that night from Liverpool Street to Harwich (first open single for £44.50) before catching the overnight to Hook of Holland. The 'adventure' then began! A regional train to Rotterdam, which was very comfortable indeed. I then took a NS IC train to Eindhoven. This train appeared to be modern and offered free wi-fi in 1st class.

I was able to use ICE from Eindhoven to Cologne, then onwards to Munich where i had my first overnight stop. The ICE trains were impressive and I especially enjoyed the gallery experience of sitting at the front just behind the driver!

Next journey was from Munich to Venice using Eurocity. This appeared to be operated by Austrian Federal Railways (OBB) and offered a choice in 1st of 6 seat compartments or 4 seat business compartments. A 6 hour scenic journey with the chance to have an excellent meal in the dining car, 3 courses for EUR 25! Certainly better than a low cost flight!