• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Is BritRail eligibility based on citizenship or residency?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ForTheLoveOf

Established Member
One of my relatives is currently living in the UK but is a foreign (EU) citizen. She has asked me for ticketing advice for a few long journeys which she is planning to do soon. It turns out that, if she is eligible for it, a BritRail pass will be the cheapest option as she requires flexibility (so can't use Advances) but will likely travel at or around 'peak' times (so walk-ups will be very expensive). The most appropriate pass is cheaper than a walkup ticket for even just one of the journeys, even when splitting.

I'm not very 'au fait' as regards the BritRail pass since I've never used or ordered it before. She has friends and relatives who live in the EU (outside the UK) in case it's not possible to have the BritRail pass sent to a UK address.

The question is - is she eligible for a BritRail pass? Could she perhaps use an InterRail pass if not (it's more expensive but still cheaper than walk-ups). Will she have to prove non-UK residency (obviously not possible as she lives here), or will proof of non-UK citizenship (e.g. passport) suffice? For reference, I have asked her and her passport doesn't state which country she is resident in.

Thanks for any advice - I presume the answer is that she should technically only get it if she were non-UK resident, but that her foreign passport and accent will probably not see her challenged. If she is eligible, it'd be good to know which website is the cheapest and best to order from as I think there are several. Does anyone know of any particular pros or cons to the different websites/agencies; which one should I recommend?