King's Cross to Waterloo best route?

Discussion in 'London Underground' started by Trainfan344, 2 Mar 2018.

  1. Nick66

    Nick66 Member

    Messages:
    138
    Joined:
    19 Jan 2018
    That escalator is often exit (there is only one), in which case I second the advice to use the entrance just outside the mainline station. As already mentioned, don't follow the signs or you might as well walk to Waterloo
     
  2. bluegoblin7

    bluegoblin7 Member

    Messages:
    610
    Joined:
    10 May 2011
    Location:
    OZ / OP
    Down until around lunchtime, up thereafter; it generally operates for the peak flow and is NR operated.
     
  3. Nick66

    Nick66 Member

    Messages:
    138
    Joined:
    19 Jan 2018
    Makes sense. I’m usually only there PM and used to think it was exit only until I saw it going down once and now I think about it that will have been around lunchtime.
     
  4. swt_passenger

    swt_passenger Veteran Member

    Messages:
    16,261
    Joined:
    7 Apr 2010
    Back when LU used to have those coloured lights on the passageway ceilings showing the recommended routes between mainline termini, they were never updated to show use of the Bakerloo/Victoria route via Oxford Circus. Never worked out whether that was intentional...
     
  5. cactustwirly

    cactustwirly Established Member

    Messages:
    1,810
    Joined:
    10 Apr 2013
    Location:
    Thames Valley or Leicester
    Agreed I would also use Green Park over Oxford Circus.
     
  6. Jordeh

    Jordeh Member

    Messages:
    363
    Joined:
    18 Aug 2010
    Location:
    London
    One which hasn’t been mentioned yet is via Bank using the Waterloo & City line and Northern line.

    Not the quickest or easiest route admittedly but I did enjoy it for the novelty of using the W&C line a few years ago.
     
  7. Failed Unit

    Failed Unit Established Member

    Messages:
    5,605
    Joined:
    26 Jan 2009
    Location:
    Central Belt
    When (if) Thameslink hits great northern I may try going to London Bridge and then Waterloo East. See if it is quicker.
     
  8. RichardN

    RichardN Member

    Messages:
    385
    Joined:
    29 Nov 2013
    Fewest stations is via Bank and the W&C, but is another bad choice.

    If via Oxford Circus looked to be problematic due to disruption, I'd normally go via Warren Street or Leicester Square depending on the disruption.
     
  9. Trainfan344

    Trainfan344 Established Member

    Messages:
    1,914
    Joined:
    13 Oct 2012
    What's the quickest route from the main line platforms to the Victoria line?
     
  10. Kite159

    Kite159 Established Member

    Messages:
    9,852
    Joined:
    27 Jan 2014
    Location:
    West of Andover
    At Kings Cross?

    Exit the station into the square area, pass the little kiosk and there is an enterance there. Once down the stairs do a large curve with a few more steps with a gateline. Victoria is the escalators on the right hand side.
     
  11. Trainfan344

    Trainfan344 Established Member

    Messages:
    1,914
    Joined:
    13 Oct 2012
    Thanks this thread came in handy yesterday, although I got a bit confused leaving the Victoria line, walked down the long corridor and up the escalators then rather than going up the stairs there, went up the escalators.
     
  12. Mojo

    Mojo Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    16,017
    Joined:
    7 Aug 2005
    Location:
    0035
    I always use the staircase immediately to the right of the main station exit rather than walking across the square; this also saves you getting wet when it’s raining! On the way in, this also saves you having to cross with people coming out of the “way out” of the Tube gateline.
     
  13. philjo

    philjo Established Member

    Messages:
    2,310
    Joined:
    9 Jun 2009
    If using the escalator at Green Park this is quite quick as I did Canary Wharf to Kings Cross via Green Park in about 25 minutes on Friday.

    I was transferring from Waterloo to Kings Cross a couple of weeks ago with a large suitcase so was using the lifts.
    There isn't lift access as far as am aware at Waterloo to the Bakerloo line so I used the lift to the Jubilee line and changed at Green Park.
    It is a very long walk using the lifts to access the Victoria Line - you have to use1 lift & then through the very long corridor to almost reach the Piccadilly line then back along the long connection to the Victoria & up another lift to access the platforms. At Kings cross the Victoria Line lift then brings you out in the long corridor to the northern ticket hall. I'll use the 59 bus next time! Though as I'll be able to get a direct Thameslink train home from London Bridge from next month I'll probably go via Waterloo East & change at London Bridge.
     
  14. backontrack

    backontrack Established Member

    Messages:
    5,305
    Joined:
    2 Feb 2014
    Location:
    The UK
    I will echo the sentiments everyone who has recommended changing at Oxford Circus - it's a quick, snappy, cross-platform interchange.

    You also have a reasonable chance of getting a seat for half of your journey - because there are sometimes free spaces on the Bakerloo Line.
     
  15. Kite159

    Kite159 Established Member

    Messages:
    9,852
    Joined:
    27 Jan 2014
    Location:
    West of Andover
    It also depends which platform you want at Waterloo, as if its a high numbered platform the Bakerloo is better than the Jubilee (which is better for the low numbered platforms).
     
  16. Peter Mugridge

    Peter Mugridge Established Member

    Messages:
    8,919
    Joined:
    8 Apr 2010
    Location:
    Epsom
    I have found I can get to the low numbered ones quicker from the Bakerloo than from the Jubilee...
     
  17. Kite159

    Kite159 Established Member

    Messages:
    9,852
    Joined:
    27 Jan 2014
    Location:
    West of Andover
    Especially if the peak time subway is open
     
  18. Peter Mugridge

    Peter Mugridge Established Member

    Messages:
    8,919
    Joined:
    8 Apr 2010
    Location:
    Epsom
    I've never actually used that when outbound, only inbound!
     

Share This Page