Largest town on the rail network without a staffed station

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zoe

Established Member
Joined
22 Aug 2008
Messages
5,905
Livingston has a population of over 60000 but neither of the stations are staffed. Is there anywhere larger on the rail network that doesn't have a staffed station?

EDIT: I should have said settlement rather than town as I want to include cities in this.
 
Last edited:
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Ivo

Established Member
Joined
8 Jan 2010
Messages
7,307
Location
Bath (or Southend)
Livingston is roughly twice the size of Pontefract.

I can't think of anywhere that can trump Livingston.
 

Eagle

Established Member
Joined
20 Feb 2011
Messages
7,106
Location
Leamingrad / Blanfrancisco
Can't do any better.

Nantwich is a lot smaller than I thought (only half the size of Kenilworth, and that sure as hell doesn't have a staffed station). In fact Penrhiwceiber/Mountain Ash seems to be larger than Nantwich.
 

p123

Member
Joined
1 Oct 2011
Messages
146
This may well be cheating but... Glasgow?

Bellgrove doesn't have any staff!
 

MidnightFlyer

Veteran Member
Joined
16 May 2010
Messages
12,846
Isleworth in SW London is as far as I know, with ~750,000 in Thursday's figures; then Steeton & Silsden at 600,000 I think. Livingston North is 250,000-400,000 at a guess, I can't check right now though :)
 

MidnightFlyer

Veteran Member
Joined
16 May 2010
Messages
12,846
Ah, getting my numbers muddled - I did only have a quick glance! Those two plus Steeton were the highest I could find.
 

12CSVT

Established Member
Joined
18 Aug 2010
Messages
2,612
But Glasgow does have at least one staffed station... Glasgow Central off the top of my head.

And Queen Street, Charing Cross, Dalmuir, Hyndland, Westerton, Newton, Partick just to name a few
 

PinzaC55

Member
Joined
6 Sep 2010
Messages
548
I know. I had a senior moment and couldn't figure out how to delete my post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top