London Midland 350120 Drag to Northam

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

33056

Established Member
Joined
12 Nov 2007
Messages
2,368
Location
On a train somewhere in Europe
No idea what it is doing there but booked to leave Northam at 18:36 Sunday and arriving Northampton 05:51 Monday (having a rest at Wembley for a few hours to wait for the WCML to re-open)
 

OxtedL

Established Member
Associate Staff
Quizmaster
Joined
23 Mar 2011
Messages
2,408
The description under the video suggests:
This unit I believe is going to Northam depot for wheel lathing because London Midland are not able to do it in there own depots at the moment? Please correct me if I'm wrong?
A drag does feel a bit like overkill.
 

Class377/5

Established Member
Joined
19 Jun 2010
Messages
5,594
Comments on Yahoo group was its for DC load shed testing.

Drag seems bit excessive but properly cheap and quicker to have it done this way. (possibly no driver knows route and stock?)
 

Railcar B

Member
Joined
7 Aug 2011
Messages
82
Comments on Yahoo group was its for DC load shed testing.

Drag seems bit excessive but properly cheap and quicker to have it done this way. (possibly no driver knows route and stock?)
Surely if it goes off the AC lines it would have to be dragged?
 

trc666

Member
Joined
6 Jul 2005
Messages
232
Location
Islington
It would have been able to run all the way to Northam under its own power if it changed over from AC to DC at Mitre Bridge Junction.
 

ainsworth74

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Global Moderator
Joined
16 Nov 2009
Messages
22,485
Location
Redcar
I thought the shoes were removed off of them because they never ran on 3rd rail, they could maybe still be put back on though.
Were they? I thought that was a rumour that came about because the shoe gear is hard to spot when not in use?
 

33056

Established Member
Joined
12 Nov 2007
Messages
2,368
Location
On a train somewhere in Europe
Agree it is a bit strange to go to that bother for tyre turning, after all there is a lathe at Wembley which I am sure LM have sent stuff to before, though there could of course be problems with finding a slot there / cost issues. The load bank thing sounds much more likely.
 

trc666

Member
Joined
6 Jul 2005
Messages
232
Location
Islington
Return working for Sunday:

7Z02
18:36 Northam Carriage Servicing Depot - Northampton Electric Multiple Unit Depot

Northam Carriage Servicing Depot
18:36
Northam Signal E842 18:42 - 18:45
Northam Junction 18/48
St Denys 18/50
Eastleigh 18:56 - 18:58
Shawford 19/07
Winchester 19/11
Worting Junction 19/34
Basingstoke 19/37
Fleet 19/52
Farnborough Main 19/56
Woking Junction 20/08
Woking 20/09
Byfleet & New Haw 20/16
Addlestone Junction 20/18
Virginia Water 20/26
Staines 20/34
Feltham 20/40
Feltham Junction 20/42
Hounslow 20/44
Brentford 20/48
Kew East Junction 20/52
South Acton Junction 20/56
Acton Wells Junction 21/02
Acton Canal Wharf 21/04
Willesden No. 7 21/06
Wembley Yard South Junction 21/09
Wembley European Freight Operating Centre 21:14 - 04:12
Wembley Central 04/17
Harrow & Wealdstone 04/23
Watford Junction 04/31
Bourne End Junction 04/42
Tring 04/50
Ledburn Junction 05/01
Bletchley 05/12
Milton Keynes Central 05/20
Hanslope Junction 05/28
Northampton 05/43
Northampton North Junction 05/45
Northampton Electric Multiple Unit Depot 05:51
 

455/8

Member
Joined
15 Nov 2005
Messages
144
I know with SWT fleet of Desiro that once the units have been into the wheel lathe Siemens have to then re programm the wheel profile into the onboard computers so maybe it's the same for the 350 and that's why it has to go to northam, or perhaps Siemens want to have a proper look over it while it's down there?
 

Pumbaa

Established Member
Joined
19 Feb 2008
Messages
4,916
I do believe the 350/1 had there shoes removed, shortly after use with Southern.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk
Agree it is a bit strange to go to that bother for tyre turning, after all there is a lathe at Wembley which I am sure LM have sent stuff to before, though there could of course be problems with finding a slot there / cost issues. The load bank thing sounds much more likely.
Don't know what happened, reportedly Kings Heath managed to put their own lathe out for a while and this one badly needed doing. So they arranged for it to visit Northam.

And yes to all above sonic2009 is correct, those /1s which had the 3rd rail gear re-attached had it detached again. Presumably it was cheaper/easier to drag it to Northam than re-attach and run under own power.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top