• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Loss of colour in some shots

Status
Not open for further replies.

heart-of-wessex

Established Member
Hello all,

I'm still a novice at photography, have only been doing it for a year, and even then I managed to loose my camera changing trains in a mad rush (long story, but never got it back). I got a Fuji Finepix S1800 Bridge camera, second hand and is highly rated on a lot of reviews, I've found it good for a bridge camera, but in the winter time, I get some odd results and I can't think why.

Example A:

60063 by james37611, on Flickr

This was taken on the Shutter Priority setting, at 1/400. I use this for moving trains as it blurs the train out on Auto (though my mates later Fuji model handles these fine on Auto).
Could have done a bit more but I'm happy with it. Anyway, facing the other way, on the exact same setting, this happens:

70008 by james37611, on Flickr

It looks a bit unnatural, as the colours of the train is there, but the background looks sort of 'greyscale', there's no colour in the tree's compared to the previous picture. I tried custom settings and even Auto, but every photo still had no colour on the leaves.

I wasn't focusing on the train either, like the first shot, I pointed to the trees and held the focus until the train was in view, then snapped the picture.

By the fact that no matter what setting I tried not making a difference, I guess there's not a lot I can do about it or is there something wrong somewhere?

Any help is much appreciated, because even my mate who's been doing photo's longer than me is baffled!

James.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

crehld

Established Member