• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

LU vs DB Cargo - Advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mattyblob

Hey guys,

I'm currently a train operator for LU and love my job but may be offered the opportunity to start with DB at a location much closer to home.

I've done the number crunching regarding salary and with travel expenses they currently work out approximately the same. In terms of work life balance DB would in theory provide much more time at home (but then I don't know if the roster will be incredibly unsociable...)

I was wondering if anyone could provide an insight into the DB pension scheme, and also your thoughts on job security. Do the unions achieve reasonable pay increases each year for DB as LU do or will they start to fall behind over time?

Is freight a risky area to move into currently with the possibility of a no-deal Brexit?

I'm asking because I'd love to move to mainline but I don't want to throw away a good thing if the conditions simply don't compare.

Any thoughts and insights would be greatly appreciated

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Crazyb

I can't really help you, but I was a freight driver for 30 odd years, leaving Freightliner Intermodal approx 2 years ago for high speed milk floats.

I can't speak about DB, but they had pension issues and I don't think they are 100% for newbies....I did hear around 84% but that's rumour. Freightliner are still 100% for newbies...Did you not ask that ?

Job security. That's a hard one, but freight is on the turn, and hopefully on the up. I have friends at Barking which is not a bad depot.