• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Luggage on Trains

Status
Not open for further replies.

suze2403

Hello All!

When you store your luggage at the ends of the train carriage, do you ever worry that someone is going to walk of with your bag? Either mistakenly or because they've stolen it? Or has this actually happened to you?

I'm a Product Design Student in my final year at Northumbria University and I need to find a major final year project to carry out this year. I was thinking of designing something that will secure the luggage to the racks. I was wondering, is this a problem that you face? or do have any bigger problems when you're commuting/travelling on the trains?

The obvious answer may be just to use a padlock.. but I want to get your ideas, opinions and your suggestions if this is an area that a product could be developed.

I look forward to hearing from you soon, please, please help me.

Thanks you!
Suze

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

MCR247

Established Member
Someone has mistakenly walked off with my case before, but how will it be secured to the racks? I don't personally think this idea has been carefully thought through, due to different case sizes etc, and right now, you can jumble the cases around etc to fit them in

Caertroia

There are also security implications. If someone locked a bag to the rack (which people can do anyway) the BTP might worry it had a bomb in it. Anyway, have you asked the BTP whether it's a real problem about people stealing bags, Suze? Maybe we'll all just honest.

chris89

Established Member
I've never worried about people taking my bags/ Suitcases mostly because when i do travel by rail i take a Should bag/ Carry on type of one and place it under my seat.