• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Manchester to Ashford (Surrey)

Status
Not open for further replies.

martin2345uk

Established Member
Hi guys
This is my first attempt to ask for fare advice on here... I've always been useless finding cheap fares from Manchester to the London area and usually end up paying quite a lot so just seeing if there are cheaper options out there..!

Ok so this is the journey details:

From Manchester to preferably Ashford Surrey (but if cheaper/easier, then to either Staines or Feltham)

Leaving either Friday evening 25th May or Saturday morning 26th May (but then would need to arrive before 1pm!)

Returning anytime on Sunday 27th May.

Now the tricky bit:

If it's cheaper to travel Manchester to Chelmsford, going that same Friday evening and returning that same Sunday anytime, then I would do that instead. It all depends on price.

Well there we go, I apologise that it's a bit confusing! I used to do the Manchester to Chelmsford journey a fair bit and always ending up paying £60-70...

Any help very gratefully received! :)

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

SickyNicky

Verified Rep - FastJP
Hi.

Are you just looking for the cheapest possible price, or do you want to go the fastest way?

For example, the price comes down a lot if you don't mind using the slow London Midland trains, and it comes down a bit if you'll use the excellent Chiltern Mainline services, all of which are slower than using Virgin.

The same applies for the Chelmsford trains. Are you prepared to take a longer and slower route across country rather than through London?

martin2345uk

Established Member
Sorry guys forgot those details!!