• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Mental Health

Status
Not open for further replies.

Iskra

Established Member
I’m a line manager across 2 sites and have a fairly sizeable team. I’m finding that I’m spending an increasing amount of time having conversations with people about their mental well-being, probably 2/3 times a week now. That’s not the issue, I’m always happy to listen and to try give the best advice I can. However, I’m finding myself increasingly out of my depth in terms of the subjects I’m dealing with and the stakes are getting higher in terms of consequences if I give the wrong advice.

My organisation has a helpline, which I give out and I’ve discussed it with more senior people and they tell me that ‘something is coming,’ in the future that will assist me as a manager in helping my employees, but that might be too late.

So in the meantime, does anyone know any organisations that could provide me with some inexpensive training (as I’ll be funding it myself probably) on how best to deliver ‘mental health first aid.’ I’m not looking to become a fully blown expert in the subject, but I feel I need to be confident in assisting my team. If I find some worthwhile training I’d be happy to try introduce it into my organisation and I feel there are people who would be supportive in that.

Thanks in advance for any assistance you can collectively offer.

Please can this conversation remain respectful if it moves onto any wider aspects of mental health and can we avoid the rights and wrongs of why I feel I need to do something about it myself. Thanks.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

ComUtoR

Established Member
Mind offer training courses.