National Rail Enquires when trying to find fares for different journeys

Discussion in 'Fares Advice & Policy' started by suzanneparis, 9 Aug 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. suzanneparis

    suzanneparis Member

    Messages:
    521
    Joined:
    21 Feb 2015
    I often would like to have two or more windows open at the same time when I am looking at nationalrail.co.uk.

    But it causes problems - they somehow interact with each other unless I specifically open an 'incognito' browser.

    Is there another way to browse different fares/times/journeys with more than one window open?
     
  2. Registered users do not see these banners - join or log in today!

    Rail Forums

     
  3. DaleCooper

    DaleCooper Established Member

    Messages:
    3,377
    Joined:
    2 Mar 2015
    Location:
    No.664 - Next door to the Beast
    I had exactly that problem when trying to get prices for Leicester to London via Peterborough for your other thread, I thought I was going bonkers at one point. I'm going to have a look see if there's a way around it.
     
  4. suzanneparis

    suzanneparis Member

    Messages:
    521
    Joined:
    21 Feb 2015
    Thanks DaleCooper. I thought I was going bonkers too. Nice to know it's not just me!!

    Regards
     
  5. ainsworth74

    ainsworth74 Forum Staff Staff Member Global Moderator

    Messages:
    21,320
    Joined:
    16 Nov 2009
    Location:
    Redcar
  6. MikeWh

    MikeWh Established Member Senior Fares Advisor

    Messages:
    5,920
    Joined:
    15 Jun 2010
    Location:
    Crayford
    Or use a different browser: IE, Chrome, Firefox, Opera, Safari etc
     
  7. suzanneparis

    suzanneparis Member

    Messages:
    521
    Joined:
    21 Feb 2015
    I do use Chrome browser.

    And I find nationalrail.co.uk the easiest of the different websites to use. So that is why I would prefer to find a solution to the interaction between windows. Perhaps I shall just have to stick to incognito mode.
     
  8. DaleCooper

    DaleCooper Established Member

    Messages:
    3,377
    Joined:
    2 Mar 2015
    Location:
    No.664 - Next door to the Beast
    I've had another go and it seems to be something that happens when you add a railcard but the site is also having other problems (error messages) so that might be a factor. I'll try again tomorrow.

    I also prefer to use that site as I'm starting to know my way around it, I don't want to have to learn the quirks of another site too.
     
    Last edited: 9 Aug 2015
  9. ainsworth74

    ainsworth74 Forum Staff Staff Member Global Moderator

    Messages:
    21,320
    Joined:
    16 Nov 2009
    Location:
    Redcar
    I actually find NRE to be horrendously clunky compared to the style of engine used by VTEC and others (WebTIS if you're interested).
     
  10. MikeWh

    MikeWh Established Member Senior Fares Advisor

    Messages:
    5,920
    Joined:
    15 Jun 2010
    Location:
    Crayford
    Sorry, what I meant was use one browser for one window and another for a different one. Each browser keeps track of session variables separately so they wouldn't conflict with each other.
     
  11. suzanneparis

    suzanneparis Member

    Messages:
    521
    Joined:
    21 Feb 2015
    Sorry I misunderstood you.

    I find NRE the least clunky.

    But what is VTEC and WebTIS.

    Can you give a link so I can have a try and booking tickets on that system.

    Many thanks
     
  12. Hadders

    Hadders Fares Advisor

    Messages:
    6,859
    Joined:
    27 Apr 2011
    VTEC is Virgin Trains East Coast

    www.virgintrainseastcoast.com

    Webtis is the booking engine used by many train companies, notably VTEC, all the First Group TOC's and all the Govia ones.

    The Trainline is the booking engine used by other train companies, notably Virgin West Coast, the Stagecoach franchises (except VTEC who I suspect will change next month), Abellio (Greater Anglia and Scotrail) and Arriva Trains Wales.

    Northern use a completely different booking engine (whose name escapes me at the moment).
     
  13. ainsworth74

    ainsworth74 Forum Staff Staff Member Global Moderator

    Messages:
    21,320
    Joined:
    16 Nov 2009
    Location:
    Redcar
    Virgin Trains East Coast and I gave you a link to their booking engine earlier (the engine is called WebTIS and is used by quite a few train companies) but here it is again ;)
     
  14. Crossover

    Crossover Established Member

    Messages:
    7,912
    Joined:
    4 Jun 2009
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Caused by session cookies that get read in by the browser - the only way round it is to go Incognito (or Private Browsing as it is labelled in some browsers) as this prevents the saving of cookies, use a different booking engine for the second lookup or use a second browser for the second lookup session
     
  15. kieron

    kieron Established Member

    Messages:
    2,375
    Joined:
    22 Mar 2012
    Location:
    Connah's Quay
    What happens, as far as I can tell, is that some of the things you set are stored in cookies. If you open a details window, I believe it will be for whatever journey is stored in the cookies (rather than the referrer). If you carry out a new search and there are some via or avoid points set in the cookies, it will apply these to a new search without you requesting it.

    I don't think there's anything out there to make NRE behave better than judicious use of private browsing sessions.
    It's called assertis. It has some nice features, but the UI is still full of Javascript.
     
  16. suzanneparis

    suzanneparis Member

    Messages:
    521
    Joined:
    21 Feb 2015
    ainsworth74, yes sorry for me being a bit dim about that. I didn't relate your earlier post to you mentioning VTEC.

    However, I must be stupid but I cannot understand how VTEC works. I have just entered Leicester to London, tomorrow after 7am open return with railcard. It comes up with some train times at the bottom and some boxes with prices at the top. I then select a price and nothing happens.

    Just redone it and this time...some of the boxes are very slightly a different shade?? Much too subtle to be obvious to dim me.

    I find it very difficult to use. NRE I find easy and obvious and easier to change.

    I used to try using ECM before Virgin took it over and always found it difficult to use.

    So, I'm sorry but I think we may have to disagree about this, I'm definitely sticking with NRE.
     
  17. ainsworth74

    ainsworth74 Forum Staff Staff Member Global Moderator

    Messages:
    21,320
    Joined:
    16 Nov 2009
    Location:
    Redcar
    You can either select a fare (the boxes at the top) and it will show which trains you can use with that fare or you can select a train and it will show you which fares are valid on that train. Once you've chosen a fare and a train you can then press 'Buy Now' on the right hand side to purchase a ticket.

    I find it far superior to NRE simply because NRE has always felt clunky and poorly designed from a User Interface perspective.

    You could also try the Trainline's booking engine as seen on Virgin Trains West Coast.
     
  18. suzanneparis

    suzanneparis Member

    Messages:
    521
    Joined:
    21 Feb 2015
    Just tried again and I still have problems using VTEC
    I just typed in Leicester to London on Wednesday with a railcard after 5am depart, open return.
    It then comes up with a selection of boxes at the top. The top left says' £38-95 return'. I click on that and.................... nothing happens.

    I never have any difficulties using NRE.

    But thanks anyway. I guess we have to disagree on this one.
    --- old post above --- --- new post below ---
    Then if I select a more expensive fare it takes me onto later trains. Fine I understand that but there doesn't then seem to be a way of going back to the earlier trains.

    I have to say I find it difficult to use.
    --- old post above --- --- new post below ---
    Aha. Just discovered you have to hit the 'show' button. It took me a while to guess that bit.
     
  19. benk1342

    benk1342 Member

    Messages:
    356
    Joined:
    13 Jul 2011
    Location:
    Welwyn Garden City
    The top left button with the range of fares is for advance fares, which are of course tied to specific trains. These fares will not show (ie the button won't work) if you select "open return", which indicates you are looking for flexible tickets only.

    I agree that it is difficult to see when a button is "greyed out" and that the system is not entirely intuitive for new users. But I think it works really well and is more powerful and flexible than other options once you get to know its quirks.

    Ben
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page