• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Negative easement - Now inconsistencies in ticket prices

Status
Not open for further replies.

eastend43

Hi

I'm new to this, so apologies if this has been asked before. And forgive me for not going into too much detail, for obvious reasons.

I recently noticed a negative easement that affects my local station (Station A), which is very close to a large station (Station B). To get to another large station about 50 miles away (Station C) it is usually quicker to go via B and get the fast train (on a separate line) to C. But the recent negative easement now states that A to C via B is not a permitted route.

My local station is unstaffed and when I get on a train from A to B I have always been able to buy the cheapest ticket for the journey from A to C. When there hasn't been the opportunity to buy a ticket on the train from A to B, I have always been able to buy the cheapest ticket from A to C at the platform ticket office at Station B. When I go on the www.eastcoast.co.uk website to buy a ticket from A to C it often routes me via B (as it is the quickest) and gives it to me at the lowest price.

The trainline website (and the website of the TOC which covers these stations) only offers the direct but slower journeys from A to C (at the lowest price) and the network rail website offers the direct journeys at the lower price, or journeys via B at a higher price (£1.20 more) and states that you would have to buy multiple tickets to go that route.