• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Network Rail Apprenticeships

Status
Not open for further replies.

hedpe

Hi

Would anyone out there be able to offer me any advice on the apprenticeships that Network rail offer? Would be great to hear from anyone who is currently on the course or who has completed it. I have always wanted to get into the railways and see this as a fantastic opportunity to move away from home and do something challenging and enjoyable. Any examples of activities that are involved? Is there a lot of practical work? What kind of people are they looking for?

Thanks,

Will.

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Hydro

Established Member
I am a former apprentice, having successfully completed it earlier this year.

Word on the street now is due to the continuous reorganisation of the company, jobs for the apprentices are thin on the ground upon completion, and be prepared for a local depot to not have any Apprentice positions. I'd say it was almost a requirement now be willing to move to where the work is. I had to move 200 miles to land a job that I really wanted once I'd finished. If you were to join next years intake (starting September 2011) then the situation may change by the time you finish.

That said; it's good. If you are willing to put the work in, and commit to the time required, it pays off. The attitude of wanting to move away from home and seek a challenge is good enough grounding to get in on this.