New Railway Map Website

Discussion in 'Modelling, Memorabilia & Publications' started by MatthewB, 16 Jul 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MatthewB

MatthewB Member

Hello,

I've been working on putting together a site depicting historical railways of the UK and Ireland. I've been working on the maps for many years, and have now decided to try and create a Google Maps based site to display them. The site is now up and running, and I'd really appreciate some feedback on firstly, whether it works, but more importantly if this is something that would be useful to the rail enthusiast community and also if there are any mistakes or omissions.

The site is at www.RailMapOnline.com. All feedback and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Matthew

2. Karlywarly

Karlywarly Member

Just two evenings ago I'd been trying to work out how the tracks into the now demolished Linocln St. Marks station and the old Lincoln avoiding line mapped onto today's street plan. (Don't ask why, I'm just interested in these things!). Anyway, lots of time comparing oblique aerial photos with google maps could all have been done in seconds using your site. Certainly for the area around Lincoln the lifted lines are pin-point accurate and you can see the scars in both the countryside and the townscape. Fascinating!

Thanks for sharing!

Karl
    Lincoln (obviously!)

3. 30907

30907 Established Member

On a quick visit, very impressive. How many years' work is this?!

I didn't realise from your description that the aim was to show every line that ever existed - eg Croydon Tramlink doubling up with its SECR/LBSCR predecessors - and I like the Wikipedia link idea - on a random test it seems to work.

On a quick glance, you seem to list post-grouping lines under pre-grouping names (Wimbledon and Sutton, Torrington-Halwill), and I think there are some oddities in the New Cross area.

I also note that most stations in the London area (at least) are still to add.