• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

New Train Driver Selection Criteria

Status
Not open for further replies.

DunfordBridge

I recently failed my CBI with Freightliner, one of the questions on which I failed was the one about working alone for long periods. The response I gave related to a time in the nineties when I worked as a security guard where some of the shifts were over twelve hours.

One of the areas which might have been my undoing was demonstrating that I could maintain concentration during these shifts in a sedentary position without the use of physical activity.

Most of the time I was watching the cameras but part of the content of my response centred around making check controls with the HQ of the security company and performing patrols as well as walking to the window to look at those areas which were not covered by the CCTV cameras.

I had an excellent example of how I would maintain concentration if I was a train driver involving route knowledge but of course the CBI is concerned with past experiences so I never had an opportunity to field this excellent example.

Although the CBI is not included in the new method of train driver assessment being replaced by the combination of the SJE (Situation Judgement Exercise) and the Multi-Modal Interview, I have been reading section 1.3 of the document T628 from the RSSB from which I have cited the following:

The introduction of complex systems such
as ERTMS is likely to change the demands made on train drivers
and therefore the selection criteria for the role (RSSB, 2005), as
follows:
  • New systems have already, and will in future, reduce the
    number of control tasks required. As a result a greater
    emphasis on the ability to sustain attention and vigilance
    with little physical activity is required.