New vid cam (Sony HC35) help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jordy

Established Member
Joined
9 Jun 2005
Messages
8,460
Location
WCML South
Hi

Have just got a new video camera, Sony HC35. I have followed the instructions etc and installed it properly (3 times), but when I transfer video to my PC, the Framerates are awful, anyone have this camera or simular? If so, do you have the same problem?

Any help appreciated

Jordy
 
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

matt

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Global Moderator
Joined
30 Jun 2005
Messages
7,141
Location
Rugby
Are you transferring using firewire or usb? What program are you using to capture? Do you know how fast your harddrive is?
 

RJ

Established Member
Joined
25 Jun 2005
Messages
7,762
Location
Rail replacement bus cab
Are you opening the video on the camera's memory card? If you copy it onto the computer, then open the copied file, this problem is solved. Its something to do with the memory card data speed.
 

matt

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Global Moderator
Joined
30 Jun 2005
Messages
7,141
Location
Rugby
Joe H said:
Are you opening the video on the camera's memory card? If you copy it onto the computer, then open the copied file, this problem is solved. Its something to do with the memory card data speed.

He is talking about a camcorder not a still digital camera
 

Richmond

Member
Joined
7 Mar 2006
Messages
80
He is talking about a camcorder not a still digital camera

Sony camcorders can use both memory card or dv tape.:dontknow:
 

Jordy

Established Member
Joined
9 Jun 2005
Messages
8,460
Location
WCML South
Its DV tape

Are you transferring using firewire or usb? What program are you using to capture? Do you know how fast your harddrive is?

USB, using Sony 'Picture Package' software. Have a pathetic 256mb of RAM (but that shouldnt affect anything??) and 70gb of free space on hard drive.

Jordy
 

Richmond

Member
Joined
7 Mar 2006
Messages
80
Use the firewire 1394 lead as it will drop less frames on the transfer and give best possible results.
 

Lesjordans

Member
Joined
8 Jun 2005
Messages
353
Location
Glasgow
And use Firewire with Windows Movie maker and use the 2nd Option which says it gives 30 FPS, and the size is a reasonable 320 x 160
 

Max

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Administrator
Joined
8 Jun 2005
Messages
5,403
Location
Cardiff
Firewire is also the best method for transfer of videos, and don't be put off by the price for cables in stores such as Dixons etc. Buy from a small computer store, the cables are much cheaper there!
 

Jordy

Established Member
Joined
9 Jun 2005
Messages
8,460
Location
WCML South
I dont even know if my PC has a firewire plug in point, what do they look like?

Jordy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top