• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

nOOb to catching trains

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocker

Hi,

I'm a complete nOOb to getting the train. I think Ive only caught the train once in my life.

I'm from Burnley and i want to go to Sheffield this Thursday and return the following day. I heard that if i book the tickets online that they might be cheaper.
So Ive tried to book the tickets online and i just have 2 queries.

First of all, does the saver return only apply for the return journey? As in i can only catch the train on none peak times. I believe the peak times are before 10am and between 5pm and 7pm. I want to return on the following day but i dont know exactly when il be wanting to go back. Will the saver return cover this?

Second of all, there are no direct routes so i have to change once. Burnley to Leeds and Leeds to Sheffield. But yet part way through it says "This ticket is only valid for routes passing through Stockport." Which isnt even on any of the routes between Burnley, Leeds and Sheffield. Does anybody know whats going on there? Might this just be a computer error?

Hope to hear from someone soon.

Rob

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

1D53

Established Member
Journeys between Burnley and Sheffield have two 'routing points' - Stockport or Halifax.

For journeys via Stockport you would probably change at Preston for a train to Stockport then at Stockport for a train to Sheffield.

For trips via Halifax its a train from Burnley to Leeds then another train to Sheffield.