• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Norwich to London late 70's early 80's

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rozenda

Good morning !
Newbie here so apologies is there is any information already on this subject.
I am having a go at creative writing and need some information on trains between Norwich and London during the above years.
Any information will be helpful but specifically, train times, frequency, journey time, stops, cost of tickets etc.
Also if anyone who was aged between 16 and 24 who travelled to London from a relatively rural area what were your experiences of London life.
Many thanks in advance !
:D

Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Veteran Member
For starters:
On weekdays there was a train every hour, with a couple of extras for commuters - this pattern had been settled since the early 60s and didn't change until the line was electrified.

Trains left London at 30 minutes past - on the even hour they called only at Colchester and Ipswich and took 1 hr 55, on the odd hour they called also at Manningtree Stowmarket and Diss, and took about 15 minutes longer.

On the way back it was almost always 25 past from Ipswich, so either 29 or 42 past from Norwich.

Can't dig out a fares book just now but I have got one somewhere.

AM9

Veteran Member
For starters:
On weekdays there was a train every hour, with a couple of extras for commuters - this pattern had been settled since the early 60s and didn't change until the line was electrified.

Trains left London at 30 minutes past - on the even hour they called only at Colchester and Ipswich and took 1 hr 55, on the odd hour they called also at Manningtree Stowmarket and Diss, and took about 15 minutes longer.