• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Orient Express Style Luxury Journeys

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dasie Archer

Hello all,

Firstly, my apologies if I have posted this in the wrong place. I am relatively new to being actively involved online!

It is my husband who is the rail enthusiast, so I come requiring some assistance on his behalf.

I watched an episode of 'The Apprentice' last week where the candidates held (an awful) trip aboard a beautiful train. I believe it was called the 'British Pullman'.

After watching, my husband was very much enthused and we discussed how wonderful it would be to experience a 1930's style train.

Further research shows that you can indeed spend thousands on glamorous cross-continental 'rail holidays', but I found https://www.luxurytraintickets.com/ and https://northernbelle.co.uk/ that offer more affordable 'day trips'.

I was wondering if anyone had been on any trips such as these and whether they could help me answer some questions?

1. Are these tours generally readily available? We are looking to book something when the weather improves. Would I need to generally book quite far in advance? Have we maybe missed the booking window for next year?

2. Does anyone know what is included in the journey? Is lunch provided for example? Are drinks complimentary?

3. My husband is intrigued as to whether these are genuine carriages used or are they made to simply 'mimic' a 1930's style carriage?

4. Is there any particular train or journey anyone may recommend? We would ideally like to depart from a station in or near London, but if it's worth travelling we're happy to look beyond.

Many thanks in advance for any assistance you may be able to provide.

Dasie.