• Our booking engine at tickets.railforums.co.uk (powered by TrainSplit) helps support the running of the forum with every ticket purchase! Find out more and ask any questions/give us feedback in this thread!

Penalty fare notice following advice from train conductor

Status
Not open for further replies.

John837102

So the other day I was making my daily commute to university (From Frizinghall station to Leeds). As a student I am able to use a ‘metro-card’ which, like a rail-card, allows me to purchase weekly and monthly tickets at a cheaper price. This card needs to be topped up by the ticket machines at the station which I normally do. I want to point out that the station does not have a ticket booth/office so there are no personnel at the station. However, the machine was out of order meaning that I could not top up my card at that moment nor buy a ticket. But I thought to myself that I’d just top my card up at the destination as they have a ticket machine before the barriers, which can then allow me to get through the barriers.

So I boarded the train and thought not much of it. Halfway to my destination, I saw the train conductor pacing up and down, asking if anyone needed to buy a ticket. So for safe measure I told the train conductor that I have not got a ticket but I would like to top up my card. He replied saying that I will need to purchase a ticket as he cannot top my card up. I then explained to him that the machine at my station was out of order and that if it was functioning I would not need to spend extra on a ticket as purchasing my monthly pass would cover the journey. He then said that I will need to speak with the ticket officers at the station and explain my situation to them. Please note that at no point did I refuse to purchase a ticket from him.