Photo Sites

Status
Not open for further replies.

bluecont

Member
Joined
24 Jul 2005
Messages
43
Location
Bristol (Area)
I am interesting in looking into getting a free photo website some time soon.

Basically I am interested if there is one clear 'best site' from the point of view of the publisher, or the end user.

Any way the question is which photo sites are good, and which arent. And I would be grateful for any opinions before the 7th.

Thanks
Ian
 
Sponsor Post - registered members do not see these adverts; click here to register, or click here to log in
R

RailUK Forums

Met Driver

Established Member
Joined
8 Jun 2005
Messages
1,734
I'd go for fotopic. It's relatively easy to use - I grasped pretty much everything within a few days of having started using it. You have 250mb of free space, but you have to pay for extra once that's used up. I'm not sure of the rates exactly, but IIRC they're not too bad.

If it's simply image hosting you're after, go for photobucket.
 

ChrisM

Member
Joined
14 Aug 2005
Messages
716
I use Fotopic and find it easy to use and pay for premium fotopic @ £45 per year but the free fotopic is just enough for most.
 
T

Tom

Guest
RailUK's photo gallery will be coming back up soon, but sometimes it is best to buy hosting and host your own gallery (that way you have no small limit on how much you can upload!)
 

Craig

Established Member
Joined
15 Jun 2005
Messages
3,958
Location
Newcastle
bluecont said:
Any way the question is which photo sites are good
Mine's great ;)

Seriously though, think about making your own webiste. That way you can have everything the way you want it. I'd avoid using Fotopic, IMO photos don't look as good as they could on there. I think it's due to the way they edit them once you've uploaded them.
 

Dennis

Established Member
Joined
8 Aug 2005
Messages
2,676
Location
Trowbridge
I would certainly recommend fotopic - it is incredibly quick and easy to use although I would agree with the comment about the image quality being degraded. I don't think this is really a problem though, as most of the time I expect the images viewed are not studied in any great detail.

The only problem I seem to find with fotopic is that sometimes I cannot view images on other peoples sites, all I get is the description and file size.

See my site at dennis-lance.fotopic.net
 

Techniquest

Veteran Member
Joined
19 Jun 2005
Messages
17,924
Location
Nowhere Heath
I combo my workings between photobucket.com and Fotopic. Some stuff gets put on photobucket, more gets put on Fotopic.

The Fotopic one is crying out for new images and collections, plus a major revamp, which I will have to put into action soon. I've certainly got enough photos to upload!
 

Tom B

Established Member
Joined
27 Jul 2005
Messages
4,552
Dennis said:
The only problem I seem to find with fotopic is that sometimes I cannot view images on other peoples sites, all I get is the description and file size.
Turn off banner ad blocking.
 

yorkie

Forum Staff
Staff Member
Administrator
Joined
6 Jun 2005
Messages
49,918
Location
Yorkshire
I think the downgrading of quality on Fotopic is only when it reduces the size of images?

I just upload mine at 800x600, that way they display fine on most people's screens and don't need to be downsized by Fotopic, and I don't have to worry about taking up loads of space. It also means people can download my images easily.

I still have the full size originals of course.

I've done a bit of updating/tidying, http://yorkie.fotopic.net. I have disabled comments due to an individual (not on this forum) abusing that facility. I advise you all keep an eye out for nasty people leaving abusive comments. Their IP addresses are logged, however.
 

evil_hippo

Member
Joined
9 Jun 2005
Messages
772
Location
Lewisham
One thing about fotopic...

Why does it show so few thumbnails?

You get entire collections that you can't access because there are no thumbnails.
 

bunnahabhain

Established Member
Joined
8 Jun 2005
Messages
1,871
Just click on 'More Collections', although you dont need to use that if the Gallery Owner has set the Front Page My Collections to about 100 or so.
 
T

Tom

Guest
evil_hippo said:
One thing about fotopic...

Why does it show so few thumbnails?

You get entire collections that you can't access because there are no thumbnails.
evil_hippo, found the solution, your adblocker is blocking the pics. :)
 

Dennis

Established Member
Joined
8 Aug 2005
Messages
2,676
Location
Trowbridge
Excuse my ignorance but where can I change adblocker settings to prevent the missing thumbnail problem (am using IE 6) - seems odd to me that in most collections I can see some.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Top